Skip to main content

Tips for Annotated Bibliographies: Home

This guide provides a general overview of annotated bibliographies and how to construct them. For additional details, please contact your instructor.

Reference & Research Help

Ways to Get Research Help


Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk


Call Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

(401) 874-2653


Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

Click Here to Start


Email Us
(After Regular Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

Annotated bibliographies are lists of references or citations to books, articles, websites, and other materials, with brief descriptions of the content of the items. Annotated bibliographies can help you assess, evaluate, and keep track of the materials you've located as part of your research.

If you need help finding materials, please contact us!

Citing Sources

Your instructor should specify which citation format you'll need to use for your annotated bibliography. Common formats are APA (American Psychological Association), MLA (Modern Language Association), and Chicago, but there are others as well. See our Citing Correctly and Avoiding Plagiarism Guide for tips on formatting your citations.

Writing an Annotation

Your instructors will likely have some guidelines for you to use in writing an annotated bibliography. Some questions to consider when writing an annotation are:

  • What is the book/article/website about? What does it cover? Provide a brief summary of the content in your own words.
  • What are the authors' credentials? What makes them qualified to write about the topic?
  • How is this relevant to your research? What aspects of it make it useful for your topic?

You can also use The CRAAP Test as a basis for evaluating information you find.

Examples

APA 6th Edition Format Citation & Annotation:

Leyden, K. M., Goldberg, A., & Michelbach, P. (2011). Understanding the pursuit of happiness in ten major cities. Urban Affairs Review, 47(6), 861-888. doi:10.1177/1078087411403120

This article analyzes the results of the 2008 Quality of Life survey conducted by the Gallup Organization, and based on the results, the authors conclude that social and cultural connections are predictors of happiness in cities. Cities surveyed included New York, London, Toronto, and others across Europe and Asia. Some questions on the survey included use of public transportation, parks, libraries, and opinions about safety and pollution. Although the research is several years old, the issues of public transportation, public spaces, and the environment continue to be relevant. The authors are from West Virginia University and the University of South Carolina Upstate, and cite numerous books and articles on happiness and urban planning in their references.

 

Chicago 16th Edition Author-Date Format Citation & Annotation:

Leyden, Kevin M., Abraham Goldberg, and Philip Michelbach. 2011. "Understanding the Pursuit of Happiness in Ten Major Cities." Urban Affairs Review 47, no. 6: 861-888. Accessed May 26, 2015. doi:10.1177/1078087411403120

This article analyzes the results of the 2008 Quality of Life survey conducted by the Gallup Organization, and based on the results, the authors conclude that social and cultural connections are predictors of happiness in cities. Cities surveyed included New York, London, Toronto, and others across Europe and Asia. Some questions on the survey included use of public transportation, parks, libraries, and opinions about safety and pollution. Although the research is several years old, the issues of public transportation, public spaces, and the environment continue to be relevant. The authors are from West Virginia University and the University of South Carolina Upstate, and cite numerous books and articles on happiness and urban planning in their references.

 

Chicago 16th Edition Notes and Bibliography Format Citation & Annotation:

Leyden, Kevin M., Abraham Goldberg, and Philip Michelbach. "Understanding the Pursuit of Happiness in Ten Major Cities." Urban Affairs Review 47, no. 6 (November 2011): 861-888. Accessed May 26, 2015. doi:10.1177/1078087411403120

This article analyzes the results of the 2008 Quality of Life survey conducted by the Gallup Organization, and based on the results, the authors conclude that social and cultural connections are predictors of happiness in cities. Cities surveyed included New York, London, Toronto, and others across Europe and Asia. Some questions on the survey included use of public transportation, parks, libraries, and opinions about safety and pollution. Although the research is several years old, the issues of public transportation, public spaces, and the environment continue to be relevant. The authors are from West Virginia University and the University of South Carolina Upstate, and cite numerous books and articles on happiness and urban planning in their references.

 

MLA 8th Edition Format Citation & Annotation:

Leyden, Kevin M., Abraham Goldberg, and Philip Michelbach. "Understanding The Pursuit Of Happiness In Ten Major Cities." Urban Affairs Review, vol. 47, no. 6, 2011, pp. 861-888.

This article analyzes the results of the 2008 Quality of Life survey conducted by the Gallup Organization, and based on the results, the authors conclude that social and cultural connections are predictors of happiness in cities. Cities surveyed included New York, London, Toronto, and others across Europe and Asia. Some questions on the survey included use of public transportation, parks, libraries, and opinions about safety and pollution. Although the research is several years old, the issues of public transportation, public spaces, and the environment continue to be relevant. The authors are from West Virginia University and the University of South Carolina Upstate, and cite numerous books and articles on happiness and urban planning in their references.

 

MLA 7th Edition Format Citation & Annotation:

Leyden, Kevin M., Abraham Goldberg, and Philip Michelbach. "Understanding The Pursuit Of Happiness In Ten Major Cities." Urban Affairs Review 47.6 (2011): 861-888. Web.

This article analyzes the results of the 2008 Quality of Life survey conducted by the Gallup Organization, and based on the results, the authors conclude that social and cultural connections are predictors of happiness in cities. Cities surveyed included New York, London, Toronto, and others across Europe and Asia. Some questions on the survey included use of public transportation, parks, libraries, and opinions about safety and pollution. Although the research is several years old, the issues of public transportation, public spaces, and the environment continue to be relevant. The authors are from West Virginia University and the University of South Carolina Upstate, and cite numerous books and articles on happiness and urban planning in their references.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.