This is the "Home" page of the "Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology   Tags: anthropology, social sciences  

Reference sources related to the various fields of anthropology.
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2011 URL: http://uri.libguides.com/anthro Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Services

Five Ways to Get Research Help

Spring Semester 2012


Visit us
@The Reference Desk

Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Call Us
(During Reference Hours)

(401) 874-2653


IM Us
(During Reference Hours)

URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Yahoo!


Text Us
(During Reference Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Reference Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

 

Searching the Catalog

There are a number of terms which may be used to search for anthropology related sources in the HELIN Library Catalog. Try a SUBJECT search for anthropology research, ethnology research, or by using terms such as physical anthropology or excavations archaeology (which one could further narrow down by also searching for a place, such as excavations archaeology north america).

 Also be sure to check out The Museum of Underwater Archaeology, hosted by URI, for online articles and exhibits pertaining to that field.

 

General Print Sources

Sources to help you get started with anthropological research.

Cover Art
Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology - John M. Weeks
Call Number: Ref Z5111 W44 1998
An overview of specialized research tools for undergraduate scholarship in anthropology. Directs students to library catalogs, archives, subject and regional bibliographies, theses and dissertations, maps, atlases, government documents, databases and Internet resources.

Cover Art
Fieldwork in the library : a guide to research in anthropology and related area studies - R. C. Westerman
Call Number: Ref Z5111 W47 1994
Explains how to conduct searches for bibliographic guides, current materials, unpublished materials, graphic materials, and retrospective materials within anthropology's sub-disciplines (ethnology, linguistics, human biology etc.) as well as anthropological area studies (Americas, Africa, Asia, etc.).

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of anthropology - H. James Birx, editor
Call Number: Ref GN11 E63 2006
5 volumes. Covers topics in many areas of anthropology, including applied anthropology, linguistics and theory. Contains biographical entries of prominent anthropologists and topics from related fields such as psychology and sociology. Most entries contain color pictures or charts/graphs and a list of recommended sources for further reading.

Cover Art
The dictionary of anthropology - edited by Thomas Barfield
Call Number: Ref GN307 D485 1997
Explains theories, methodologies, and current issues within the discipline, particularly focusing on cultural anthropology.

 

Contact Information

Profile Image
URI Librarian
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
Kingston: (401) 874-2653
Providence: (401) 277-5130
Narragansett: (401) 874-6161
Send Email
 

Created and Revised By

N. Krasilovsky·11/00, rev. 5/01; rev. M.J. Keefe, 11/02; rev. R. Troy-Horton 8/05; rev. E. Cataldi 8/11

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip