Skip to main content
Reference & Research Help
Five Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)
Arts and Humanities - Articles & Databases
Please note: These databases require that you log in with your URI credentials.
This page provides details on logging in to URI-subscribed databases, journals, and more.
19th Century Masterfile (Paratext)
Indexing of over 8,000 periodicals from the late 1700's to 1930; over 20 million citations to books, newspapers, patents & government documents.
African American Heritage (ProQuest)
African American genealogy resource containing census records, marriage and cohabitation records, military draft and service records, register of slaves and free persons of color, Freedman's Bank, and more. Available to RI residents via AskRI
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (America's Historical Newspapers)
"Approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles."
America: History and Life (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1910-. Updated monthly.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 (EBSCOhost)
From the extensive collection at the American Antiquarian Society, this full-text digital collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877.
American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922 (Archive of Americana)
Digitized archival collection from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. Features more than 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922 including broadsides, lithographs, books, and more.
American State Papers 1789-1838
Search or browse full text and images of U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.
American West (Adam Matthew)
Original manuscripts, ephemeral material (trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets etc), maps, and rare printed works from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Archive of Americana
Search the full text and images of both the U.S. Congressional Serial Set and the American State Papers.
Contains nearly a million archival collection descriptions. To use the items described, or order copies, contact the archiving institution directly.
Art Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Besides art and art history, topics include advertising, antiques, archaeology, architecture, fashion, interior design, textiles, and more. Also indexed are reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. 1984-. Updated daily.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (EBSCOhost)
Indexing of art publications, including magazines, journals, museum bulletins, and reproductions. Covers fine, decorative, and commercial art. 1929-1984.
Search or browse over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
BSI is an international iconographic index of baptismal fonts from the early Christian period to the 17th century made available via the World Wide Web for scholarly research in a searchable electronic format which contains both images and text.
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art)
BHA provides citations to worldwide literature on Western art in all media. This Web version from the J. Paul Getty Trust covers the years 1990-2007 and includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English. Also included are records from IBA (International Bibliography of the History of Art) which covers 2008 and part of 2009.
Early American Imprints Series I: Evans 1639-1800 (Archive of Americana)
Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. Digitized from one of the most important collections ever produced on microform, Early American Imprints, Series I is based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography” and Roger Bristol’s supplement. Includes more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages.
Early American Newspapers Series 1, 1690-1876 (America's Historical Newspapers)
Offers 340,000 fully searchable issues from over 730 historical American titles from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies. The core of the collection consists of American Antiquarian Society (AAS) founder Isaiah Thomas’ own collection of colonial and early national period newspapers and is supplemented by issues added by Thomas’ successors at the AAS.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Tract Supplement - in full digital facsimile from the Early English Books microfilm collection.
English Historical Documents
Contains over 5,500 indexed and fully searchable primary source documents from 500-1914. Sources include government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters and diaries.
Europa World: The Europa World Year Book Online
Presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations. Features statistical data and directories.
European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750 (EBSCOhost)
Database of citations to European works that relate to the Americas, based on “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750." Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. 1988-. Updated twice a month.
Gnomon Bibliographic Database
Provides citations to articles published in the journal Gnomon since 1928, as well as books and articles listed in the quarterly bibliographic appendix to Gnomon since 1990.
Provides access to genealogical materials including page images of 23,000 family and local history books, the entire U.S. Federal Census 1790-1930, PERSI™, Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other collections.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of countries other than the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present. 1955-. Updated monthly.
History Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text from more than 2,400 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than 61,100 historical documents, 66,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Online version of the Handbook of Latin American Studies. Bibliography containing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers in the humanities and social sciences relating to Latin America. Entries are selected and annotated by scholars in the field. 1936-. Updated annually.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCOhost)
Indexing of nearly 1,200 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, including magazines and scholarly journals. 1907-1984.
Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Literary Reference Center (LRC) provides full text from over 1,000 books, major literary encyclopedias, and reference works, as well as hundreds of literary journals and additional sources.
Literature Resource Center (Gale Cengage)
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes work overviews, plot summaries, and explications.
Offers self-directed language instruction in 22 languages. Instruction focuses on everyday conversational skills.
Medici Archive Project
The Medici Archive Project is a non-profit international Foundation based in the Archivio di Stato in Florence, Italy with offices in the United States. This online archive project is dedicated to revealing the astonishing story of the most influential family dynasty in Western civilization: the Medici.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (ProQuest)
Contains information on the journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography. Current. Updated every six months.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Indexing and abstracts of journals, books, and other materials on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. 1926-. Updated nine times a year.
Music Index Online (EBSCOhost)
Indexes more than 850 international music periodicals. Covers broad range of subjects, including past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. Book reviews and reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are also indexed. 1973-. Updated quarterly.
"NoveList is an electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. It includes titles, authors, publication information, subjects, book reviews, over 1200 theme-oriented booklists, 150 award lists and links to 1000 fiction related web sites."
Oxford Art Online
Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford English Dictionary
Electronic version of the Oxford English Dictionary with search capabilities.
Oxford History of Western Music
A survey of the traditions of western music, including themes, styles, and currents that give shape and direction to each musical age. Provides links to related articles in Oxford Music Online.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Resource for the study of the Islamic world. Includes thousands of articles from major Oxford reference works, hundreds of primary documents, translations of the Qur’an and Hanna E. Kassiss’ Concordance of the Quran, maps and images, and links to trustworthy external websites.
Oxford Music Online
A comprehensive, integrated online music resource containing articles, biographies, and musical examples on all types of music. Annual updates.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Reference Online Premium brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource.
Philosopher’s Index (ProQuest)
Provides citations and abstracts for books and over 480 international journals in philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, axiology and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of the disciplines, such as law, religion, science, politics, history, language, and education. 1940-. Updated quarterly.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
ScienceDirect is a collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users from 1995 to the present. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Search by name for an historical or current ship and discover which books, magazines, and online resources mention the vessel you are researching. Contains over 3 million entries.
Short Story Index Retrospective (EBSCOhost)
Contains bibliographic entries on more than 150,000 short stories from the Short Story Index from its beginning in 1915 up to 1983. Cites short stories published from the 1930s to the 1980s. 1915-1983.
Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards (Gale Cengage)
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (of London). Includes every complete page of every issue from 1785.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1994 (Archive of Americana)
Provides primary source material on all aspects of American history. Includes the full text and images from the United States Congressional Serial Set. Search or browse the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes.
Subsequent years are available through FDSys Federal Digital System http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/search/home.action
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Web access to ISI citation databases (Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research. Updated weekly.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.