This is the "Home" page of the "Biography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biography  

A list of general biographical resources.
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2011 URL: http://uri.libguides.com/biography Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Services

Five Ways to Get Research Help

Spring Semester 2012


Visit us
@The Reference Desk

Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Call Us
(During Reference Hours)

(401) 874-2653


IM Us
(During Reference Hours)

URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Yahoo!


Text Us
(During Reference Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Reference Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

 

Before You Start...

Before beginning a search for biographical information on an individual, it will help to determine in which categories the person belongs. What is, or was, the person’s nationality? Occupation? Time period? Is the person deceased or still living? Biographical sources are limited by factors such as these.

There may be other biographical sources including subject-specific sources such as dictionaries of scientists. For assistance, please contact the Reference Desk. 

Books

Do a subject search in the HELIN library catalog with the last name first: mandela, nelson. Search WorldCat for other books.

  • HELIN Catalog
    The HELIN Catalog covers academic libraries across Rhode Island, but does not include Brown. Because the libraries are close by, requests for books only take 2-3 business days for delivery. You can also visit and check out books from most of these libraries.
  • WorldCat (FirstSearch)  Icon
    This is a catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. You can request materials using URI's Interlibrary Loan service. Book requests outside of Rhode Island can take up to a month for delivery, so please plan accordingly.

Web Resources

Select a search tool from the list of Internet Search Tools, or use the links below. Keep in mind that you may retrieve low-quality information, as well as high quality.

  • Internet Search Tools
    List of internet search tools selected by URI librarians.
  • Biography.com
    Brief biographies of over 20,000 people, past and present. Provided by A&E Television Networks.
  • The Biographical Dictionary
    Dictionary of more than 33,000 men and women from ancient times to the present day. Can be searched by name, birth year, death year, positions held, professions, literary and artistic works, miscellaneous achievements, and other keywords.

Journals or Magazines

The following databases may help you locate magazine and journal articles on the person you're researching.

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Full text for over 8,500 journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers topics including: archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Updated daily. Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present.
  • Biography Index Retrospective (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Provides citations to biographical articles, interviews, and obituaries of public figures. 1946-1983.
  • Biography Reference Bank (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. Includes the full text of articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference works, plus thousands of biographies from other publishers, Biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth or death, keyword, and presence of images.
  • Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Access almost 100 years of cultural history with references to over 3 million articles that appeared in 373 leading U.S. magazines as far back as 1890.
 

Encyclopedias

Use general encyclopedias such as the New Encyclopaedia Britannica, World Book, and Encyclopedia Americana on the Encyclopedias row in the reference area. There are also numerous subject-specific encyclopedias in the reference stacks. 

Encyclopedia Americana
Call Number: URI Reference AE5 E333 2006
ISBN: 0717201392

Cover Art
New Encyclopaedia Britannica
Call Number: URI Reference AE5 E363 2010
ISBN: 1593398379

World book [electronic resource]
Call Number: URI E-Resource

 

Newspapers

  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
      Icon
    Provides the full text of many newspapers. The General News Topics section contains stories going back as far as the 1970s for some newspapers. The Biographical Information section contains biographical articles going back as far as the 1970s from trade magazines and business journals, as well as from various “Who’s Who” biographical sources.
  • National Newspapers (4) (ProQuest)  Icon
    Indexing, abstracts, and full text of The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage varies by publication but generally begins in 1980s. Updated daily.
  • New York Times Article Archive  Icon
    Search the complete backfile of The New York Times by keyword, author, or headline. Includes articles, advertisements, and listings through 1995; articles only after 1995. Full content in PDF format (1851-1995) or text-only format (1996-) may be purchased online. (Note that articles are also available on microfilm in many libraries and online in library databases.) 1851-. Updated daily.
 

Biographical Dictionaries

Cover Art
African American national biography - Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Evelyn Brooks-Higginbotham
Call Number: URI Reference E185.96 A4466 2008
ISBN: 9780195160192
Includes biographies of over 4100 notable African Americans, past and present,

Cover Art
American national biography
Call Number: URI Reference CT213 A68 1999
ISBN: 0195206355
“Conceived as a successor to the Dictionary of American Biography,” which covered important, deceased residents of the United States.

Biography and genealogy master index
Call Number: URI Reference Z5305 U5 B57
ISBN: 0810380021
Indexes current and retrospective biographical dictionaries. Covers 1980-1994.

Biography Index
Call Number: URI Reference Z5301 .B52 ; CCE Periodical Collection INDEX
ISBN: 0000063053
Indexes biographical material in magazines, books, and some obituaries. From 1946 to date.

Current biography
Call Number: URI Reference CT100 .C8
ISBN: 0000113344
Biographical sketches of people prominent in their fields, including entertainment and politics. From 1940 to the present.

Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: URI Reference DA28 D49
High quality articles on deceased residents of the British Isles or colonies. Covers up through 1985. Main and supplementary volumes. Check index for appropriate volume. Later volumes shelved at Ref. DA28 .D525.

Notable American women, 1607-1950 : a biographical dictionary - Edward T. James, editor. Janet Wilson James, associate editor. Paul S. Boyer, assistant editor
Call Number: URI Reference CT3260 N57
ISBN: 0674627318
Includes women who died before 1971. Includes many women not covered in the Dictionary of American Biography. Volumes published in 1971 shelved at Ref. CT3260 .N57.

Who was who in America
Call Number: URI Reference E176 .W64
ISBN: 0001468081
Historical volume and volumes including individuals who were retired from Who’s Who in America because of death. Often the place of burial is given.

Who's who
Call Number: URI Reference DA28 .W6
ISBN: 0010539395
Reliable entries, including addresses of prominent living individuals, mostly British. 1898-.

Who's who among African Americans
Call Number: URI Reference E185.96 .W52
ISBN: 0010811400
Provides brief biographies of over 20,000 African Americans.

Who's who in America
Call Number: URI Reference E663 .W56
ISBN: 0000839396
Covers well-known living people who have made significant achievements or held important office. From 1899 to date.

 

Contact Information

Profile Image
URI Librarian
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
Kingston: (401) 874-2653
Providence: (401) 277-5130
Narragansett: (401) 874-6161
Send Email
 

Created & Revised By

J.M. Williamson 7/99.

Rev. A. Izenstark 12/10.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip