Skip to main content
Reference & Research Help
Five Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
Business, Labor, and Economics - Articles & Databases
Please note: These databases require that you log in with your URI credentials.
This page provides details on logging in to URI-subscribed databases, journals, and more.
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition, and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. 1971-.
Accounting Research Manager Audit Private Module
One-stop resource for: Accounting standards, interpretations, and authoritative guidance (FASB, AICPA, EITF, IASB); SEC requirements, rules, regulations, and interpretive guidance; Engagement Standards (AICPA, PCAOB, OMB) incl. interpretations and examples; updated literature on internal control, government accounting and auditing topics; and news of current developments in accounting incl. SEC regulations and advances auditing and government. Two simultaneous users only.
Provides directory information for residences and businesses across the US. Allows searching by name but also by addresses, zip codes, and more. Results can be emailed and downloaded in a variety of standard formats. Available to Rhode Island residents only.
D&B Country Reports and D&B Country RiskLine Reports
Updated every 1-2 years, D&B Country Reports provide detailed political, economic, and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Reports run about 50 pages. Select "DnB Country Risk Profile" when searching.
D&B Country RiskLine Reports are updated more frequently, often monthly, as situations change. These reports include information on the improving, stable, or deteriorating business risk environment in a country.
Also available are annual Mergent Country Profiles which offer key business, economic, and demographic data on a country.
D&B Key Business Ratios
Industry benchmarking data compiled from Dun & Bradstreet's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
Indexing and selected abstracting of more than 550 international economics journals, books, dissertations, and working papers covering economic development, economic history, macroeconomics, and microeconomics. 1969-. Updated monthly.
eStatement Studies (RMA)
Online version of RMA Annual Statement Studies. Provides composite performance metrics derived directly from the financial statements of financial institutions’ borrowers and prospects. Offers financial statement benchmarks for private businesses and detailed data on over 760 industries. 2003/04-.
Fed in Print
“An Index to Federal Reserve Economic Research.” 1963-.
Profiles of over 900 industry segments. Industry profiles include overview, competitive landscape, products, operations and technology, sales and marketing, finance and regulation, regional and international issues, human resources, and labor statistics. Also includes industry news, industry forecast, critical issues, business challenges, trends and opportunities, and industry ratios.
Offers detailed company and industry profiles. Company profiles include description of business, company history, key financials and stock information, links to SEC filings, and list of competitors. Industry profiles offer industry description, competitive landscape, products and technology, finance and regulation, industry indicators and trends, and list of companies in the industry. Reports and data can be downloaded.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of datasets in social sciences and related areas. Data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata, may be downloaded. While accessible from anywhere, users must initially create an account while on campus, and must access the database from on-campus at least once every six months.
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
Labor & Employment Law Resource Center (BNA)
Text of federal and state statutes, regulations, and policy statements, with editorial explanations, related to labor-management relations, wages and hours, and employment practices. Also contains the decisions of federal and state courts, arbitrators, and administrative agencies such as the NLRB. Corresponds to the print titles Labor Relations Reporter and Collective Bargaining Negotiations and Contracts. Password required — please ask at the Info & Research Help Desk for access.
News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
Equity research reports from Ford Equity Research provide expert analysis and buy, sell, and hold recommendations for over 5,000 U.S. and international companies. Product includes links to bond reports from Mergent, company annual reports, EDGAR filings, and industry reports. Industry reports provide information on current environment, an industry profile, market trends and outlook, and comparative company data. Updated weekly.
Covers over 10,000 U.S. publicly-traded companies and selected international companies. Unique information provided includes property owned or leased, long-term debt (loans and bonds), and details on all capital stock, with annual high/lows and outstanding shares. Also offers earning estimates, institutional holdings, insider trades, stockholder equity, up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial statements, and downloadable annual reports.
Mergent Archives - Corporate Manual
Access to Mergent and Moody's Corporate Manuals from 1909 to the present.
National Newspapers Core (ProQuest)
Indexing, abstracts, and full text of The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage varies by publication but generally begins in 1980s. Updated daily.
Analysis of federal and state tax law for practitioners. Password required — please ask at Info & Research Help Desk for access.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. 1970-.
USA Trade Online
Access to U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities world wide. Two simultaneous users only. Password required — please ask at Info & Research Help Desk for access. 1992-.
Value Line Research Center
Encompasses information services covering the following types of securities: Common stocks of small, mid and large-cap companies, stocks of emerging growth companies, mutual funds, stock and stock index options, and convertible securities. Stock reports include current and historical data, income statements, balance sheets, and 3-5 year price and earnings projections. Also includes other stock evaluation tools and pre-set and custom model portfolios.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Web access to ISI citation databases (Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research. Updated weekly.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.