This is the "Book Reviews" page of the "Book Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Book Reviews  

Last Updated: Sep 13, 2011 URL: http://uri.libguides.com/bookrev Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Book Reviews Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Services

Five Ways to Get Research Help

Spring Semester 2012


Visit us
@The Reference Desk

Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Call Us
(During Reference Hours)

(401) 874-2653


IM Us
(During Reference Hours)

URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Yahoo!


Text Us
(During Reference Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Reference Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

 

Introduction

Before you attempt to locate your book review you will need to know your books date of publication (as well as the author and title of your book). Keep in mind that many books undergo revisions and are often republished as new editions many years after the initial publication date.

If you need further assistance, please contact the Reference Desk.

 

Book Reviews - Print Resources

When utilizing print indexes, in addition to checking the year that your book was published, be sure to check the years before and after as well. Each journal and newspaper has its own policy for when it chooses to publish its book reviews. Once you locate the reviews for your book be sure to write down as many full citations as necessary. If you are working with Book Review Digest or Book Review Index remember to consult the "periodical abbreviations" or "publications indexed" pages in the front of each volume to obtain the full titles for the periodicals reviewing your book. Then, search the HELIN Library Catalog to see if URI owns the periodicals that you need.

Cover Art
Book review digest
Call Number: URI Reference Z1219 .C96 ; CCE Index Z1219 .C96
A year-by-year index searchable by author or title. Each book's title entry is followed by abstracts from periodicals that have reviewed it.

Cover Art
Book review index
Call Number: URI Reference Z1035 .A1 B6 ; CCE Index Area
A year-by-year index searchable by author or title. Each book's title entry is followed by citations to articles that have reviewed it.

 

Book Reviews - Electronic Resources

  • Literature Resource Center (Gale)  Icon
    Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes work overviews, plot summaries, and explications.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Full text for over 8,500 journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers topics including: archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Updated daily. Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present.
  • Book Review Digest Retrospective (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. 1908-1982.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
      Icon
    News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
  • National Newspapers (4) (ProQuest)  Icon
    Indexing, abstracts, and full text of The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage varies by publication but generally begins in 1980s. Updated daily.
  • New York Times Article Archive  Icon
    Search the complete backfile of The New York Times by keyword, author, or headline. Includes articles, advertisements, and listings through 1995; articles only after 1995. Full content in PDF format (1851-1995) or text-only format (1996-) may be purchased online. (Note that articles are also available on microfilm in many libraries and online in library databases.) 1851-. Updated daily.
 

Subject-Specific Book Reviews

The reference collection at the URI Library includes many subject-specific book review finding resources. To locate the ones necessary to your research do a keyword search in the HELIN Library Catalog typing in phrases such as "humanities and book reviews" or "science and book reviews".

Contact Information

Profile Image
URI Librarian
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
Kingston: (401) 874-2653
Providence: (401) 277-5130
Narragansett: (401) 874-6161
Send Email
 

Created and Revised By

N. Krasilovsky 2/01; rev. R. Troy-Horton 8/05; rev. A. Izenstark 9/10

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip