Skip to main content

Holocaust Research: Primary Sources

This guide offers an introduction to Holocaust research at the URI Libraries.

What Primary Sources Do You Need?

First, consider what kinds of primary sources you might need.

Examples of primary sources and possible places to find them
Personal journals, letters, memoirs

Libraries (Books)

Archives (Personal papers)

Newspapers, magazines

Libraries (Databases and archives)

Archives (Individual articles)

Newspaper web sites

Films, images

Libraries

Film archives

Web sites

 

From there, plan your approach. Many library catalogs list archival materials, but others include archival materials in a separate area of their web sites. Browse library home pages for links to their "Archives" or "Special Collections" pages. (There is a link to URI's Special Collections on the Home page of this guide, but many local public libraries contain their own archives.)


If you're using a catalog, play around with your search terms. Many tools use a standardized vocabulary to describe items. For example, academic library catalogs like ours use the Subject subheadings "Personal narratives," "Correspondence," and "Diaries" to classify certain types of information. Look at likely results to form further searches. WorldCat uses the same naming conventions, but other sources may use different terms.

Tools for Searching for Primary Sources

Primary Sources: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Here are some of the resources on this list that we have available at the URI Libraries:

If we do not have one of these resources in the catalog that you would like to use in your research, you may request an item through InterLibrary Loan:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.