Skip to main content
CML Reference Services
Three Ways to get Research Help
Visit us @ the CML Reference Desk
CML Reference Desk: 401-874-4004
Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.
If we're not online, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
Call Number: URI Reference LB15 .G68 2011
Publication Date: 2011
"This revised second edition supplements the extensive content of the first through greater focus on subjects such as neurosciences in educational behavior, gaming strategies as a learning technique, social networking, and distance education. Terms have been revised, where necessary, to represent changes in educational practice and theory" (Amazon).
A Dictionary of Education
Call Number: URI Reference LB15 D483 2009
Publication Date: 2009
"The new Dictionary of Education provides clear and concise definitions for 1,250 terms that anyone studying education or involved in teaching is likely to encounter. Coverage includes all sectors of education: pre-school, primary, secondary, further and higher education, special needs, adult and continuing education, and work-based learning" (Amazon).
Dictionary of Education
Call Number: URI Reference LB15 A55 2007
Publication Date: 2007
A reference resource for pre-service and in-service teachers.
Call Number: URI Reference LB15 .I565 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Comprehensive essays on international education topics including sociopolitical influences, curriculum development, and technology.
Psychology of Classroom Learning
Call Number: URI Reference LB1060 P89 2009
Publication Date: 2008-08-29
From the publisher: Uniquely focused on the teacher-student dynamic, the Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom. Teachers, school psychologists, those studying developmental and school psychology and the general reader will find nearly 300 alphabetically arranged essays examining how instruction and learning are affected by factors such as classroom management, multiculturalism, learning styles, home schooling, peer relationships, school culture, discipline, self-esteem, socioeconomic status, and more. In addition to these topical essays, biographical entries on leaders in educational psychology are included.
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education
Call Number: URI Reference LC1099 .E38 2012 v. 1-4
Publication Date: 2012
This resource "presents research and statistics, case studies, and best practices, policies, and programs at pre- and post secondary levels." This encyclopedia "focuses on diversity issues and developments in nations around the world, including the United States" (Amazon).
Encyclopedia of African American Education
Call Number: URI Reference LC2771 E63 2010 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia "provides a comprehensive overview of educational institutions at every level, from preschool through graduate and professional training, with special attention to historically and predominantly Black colleges and universities" (Amazon).
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.