Skip to main content
Table of Conents
The links on this list will direct you to the boxes below that present statistical sources by subject.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Site includes reports and data on crops and livestock production and prices, farm production, and agricultural trade. May be searched by topic, keyword, or title of data set.
Business, Economics, and Labor Statistics
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Official government source for statistics on GDP, balance of payments, imports and exports, U.S. investment abroad, foreign investment in the U.S., personal income, etc. Data available at the national, state, and local area levels. Also provides online access to the Survey of Current Business.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Official government source for statistics on employment and unemployment, prices and living conditions, compensation and working conditions, productivity and technology, employment projections, and international labor.
Provides links to the latest indicators such as new residential construction and GDP.
Economic Indicators (print version)
Serial Stacks HC101 A186
The print version of Economic Indicators in the lower level of the library in the serial stacks under the call number HC101 A186. The library has the series from 1948 to the present. This resource would be helpful for people looking at economic history. Subject coverage includes employment and wages, production and business activity, and purchasing power among others.
Consumer Price Index Online
Source of monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers.
Consumer Price Index (print version)
Govt Pubs Mezzanine L 2.38/3
The print version of Consumer Price Index is located in the Government Publications Mezzanine section of the library under the call number L 2.38/3. The library has the series in print from 1957-1974. This resource would be helpful for people looking at economic history. Ask at Circulation.
Crime, Justice, and Law Enforcement
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Official government source for statistics on the justice system, including crime and victims, drugs and crime, criminal offenders, law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections, etc.
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Online access to various criminal statistics reports from the FBI. Data sets include the general Crime in the United States data, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officer information.
Uniform Crime Reports
Govt Pub J 1.14/7-2
These reports, available in the Government Publications section of the library, contain findings that the FBI releases annually from its Uniform Crime Reporting Program. Because it is no longer printed by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Bernan Press continues to provide this practical information in convenient book form. Provides crime statistics at the national level as well as by region, state, or county.
Federal Court Management Statistics
Presents statistical data on Federal Court Management Statistics from 1997 to 2008. Each set contains an introduction and statistics on the Court of Appeals and District Court.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Online publications and statistical data from NCES, the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States and other nations.
This resource provides information about State and local school systems in Rhode Island. You can access data at the district and school levels.
The Environmental Protection Agency
Contains links to statistics about air quality, toxic release data, Superfund sites, and other relevant environmental statistics.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Links to statistics about weather, climate, the oceans, fisheries, coasts, and satellites.
Renewable Resource Data Center
Presented by the Department of Energy, this site provides resource maps on biomass, geothermal, solar, and wind energies.
Source of IRS statistics on individual, corporate and estate taxes. Statistics are compiled from sample data from tax returns. Some historical data is available. May be searched by topic or by IRS tax form. Site also included links to publications and papers produced by the Statistics of Income Division of the IRS. Coverage of historical data varies with the data.
Database of statistics on all aspects of all modes of transportation in the United States. Includes data on the social, demographic, environmental and economic impact of transportation. May be searched by topic, keyword, or transportation indicator. "Mapping Center" enables data to be analyzed and presented within a customized geography. Coverage of historical data varies with the data.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.