Need Help?
Articles from Reference Databases
The following titles provide indexing and
abstracting of scholarly articles from journals in the visual arts, including costume
history. Articles found in these journals may provide social, cultural, and
historical information relating to world dress and costume. Each of the titles below is linked to the library's Reference Databases by Title. Simply click on the link and then scroll through the titles to find the database you wish to access.
- Art Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Topics include art, art history, advertising, antiques, archaeology, architecture, fashion, interior design, textiles, and more. Also includes information about reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
- What dates are covered? 1984-. Updated daily.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to art magazines, journals, museum bulletins, and reproductions. Covers fine, decorative, and commercial art.
- What dates are covered? 1929-1984
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 2.7 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
- Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Access almost 100 years of cultural history with citations to over 3 million articles that appeared in 373 leading U.S. magazines.
- What dates are covered? 1890 - Present.
