Skip to main content
Searching the catalog
You may want to get started by searching for books in the our catalog. Leave the Quick Search on "keywords" and type “history and your topic” (for example “history and bathrooms”). You may need to be creative to come up with appropriate terminology to represent your topic, or look at the Library of Congress Subject Headings on the shelves behind the URI Info & Research Help Desk.
Articles and Online Sources
Technological innovations may be discussed in news articles from the time, or retrospectively in historical research articles. These databases will help you find both.
New York Times Article Archive
Search the complete backfile of The New York Times by keyword, author, or headline. Includes articles, advertisements, and listings through 1995; articles only after 1995. Full content in PDF format (1851-1995) or text-only format (1996-) may be purchased online. (Note that articles are also available on microfilm in many libraries and online in library databases.) 1851-. Updated daily.
Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards (Gale Cengage)
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (of London). Includes every complete page of every issue from 1785.
America: History and Life (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1910-. Updated monthly.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of countries other than the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present. 1955-. Updated monthly.
The following works provide brief histories
and technical explanations of inventions, and/or biographies of inventors.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.