Skip to main content

Getting Started @ The Libraries: Chicago, 16th ed., Humanities (Notes-Bibliography)

Welcome to URI! This is a guide to help you find your way around the URI University Libraries.

Style Manuals

Posts from the CMOS Shop Talk Blog

Citation and research tips and tricks from the Chicago Manual of Style Shop Talk Blog.

Loading

Examples of Chicago Style, 16th ed., Humanities (Notes-Bibliography)

Below are examples of common Chicago style citation formats used in the Humanities. For the most authoritative guide to Chicago style, please consult the style manual. There is a copy at the Info & Research Help Desk. An online guide to common styles is also available at http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html.

Please note that this is what is often referred to as the "Humanities" style, or "Notes-Bibliography" format. Your professor will specify which format you should use for your citations.

A note about online sources: For any article or material you find online you will need the item's URL.

To create correct citations, ask yourself:

  1. Did I find the full text of this article in print? If yes, no URL is needed.
  2. Did I find the full text of this article in a database or on the open web? If yes, the URL is needed.

 

Articles 

Article found in a database or online, with one author:

Lastname, First M. "Title of article." Title of Journal volume,

no. (issue date): pages, URL.

Klyberg, Albert T. "Collecting, preserving, and sharing

Rhode Island history: 175 years." Rhode Island History

55, no. 3 (August 1997): 88-99, http://search.ebscohost.com/

login.aspx?direct=true&db=ahl&AN=A000459246.01&site=

ehost-live.

 

Article from a print periodical with one author:

Lastname, First M. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no.

(issue date): pages.

Klyberg, Albert T. "Collecting, preserving, and sharing

Rhode Island history: 175 years." Rhode Island History

55, no. 3 (August 1997): 88-99.

 

Article (online) with two authors:

Lastname, First M., and Firstname M. Surname.  "Title of article.

Title of Journal volume, no. (issue date): pages,

 URL. 

Saunders, Laura S., and John A. Saunders. "Early public transportation

to the islands of Rhode Island." Log of Mystic Seaport 42, no. 3 (1990):

70-76, http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ahl&AN=

A000331184.01&site=ehost-live.

 

Article with three or more authors (list all authors in the order listed on
the publication):

Lastname, Frank M., Frances M. Surname, John R. Smith, and Jane M. Doe.  

"Title of article." Title of Journal volume, no. (issue date): pages,

URL as applicable.   

  

Books

Book with one author:

Lastname, First M. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publication Location:

Publisher, Year.

Lemons, J. Stanley.  The First Baptist Church in America.  

 Providence, R.I.: Charitable Baptist Society, 1988. 

 

Books with multiple authors:

The format follows the author format as listed under articles.

 

An edited book:

Editor, First M., ed.  Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publication Location:

Publisher, Year.

Livingston, Carolyn, and Dawn Elizabeth Smith, eds. Rhode Island's

musical heritage: An exploration. Sterling Heights, MI: Harmonie

Park Press, 2008. 

 

Web Sites

Web site with one author:

Lastname, First M. "Title of page." Publisher. URL.

Gelles, Jason. "URI scientist helps the Navy tame Quonset."

Brown University. http://www.stg.brown.edu/projects/

WWII_Women/ScientistHelps.html.

 

Web site with a corporate or organizational author:

Organization Name. "Title of page." Publisher. URL.

UNH Dimond Library, Documents Department & Data Center. 

Historic USGS maps of New England & New York: Providence, MA-RI

Quadrangle. University of New Hampshire. http://docs.unh.edu/

nhtopos/Providence.htm.

 

Images

In this format, images are only listed in the Notes, not in the Bibliography.

Image from an online source with a creator listed:

Creator, First M., Title of Image, Date Created, URL.

Swanbrow, D., A Happiness Ranking of 97 Nations, 23 Jul. 2008,

http://www.ur.umich.edu/0708/Jul14_08/23.php.

 

Image from an online source with no creator listed:

Title of Image, Date Created, URL.

 

Image from a print source with a creator listed:

Creator, First M., Title of Image, Date Created, in [Continue the remainder

of the citation with citation information of the book or article as appropriate.]

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.