Skip to main content
Call Number: URI KF2979 I415 2003
Although primarily discussing intellectual property, this book’s section on plagiarism covers many well-known instances, including the Jayson Blair and Doris Kearns Goodwin incidents, and examines whether sites such as Turnitin.com really do have the answer. Useful for both research on plagiarism and its legal ramifications.
Using Sources Effectively
Call Number: URI LB2369 H37 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This is a workbook that uses illustrations and exercises to educate college-level writers about what constitutes plagiarism and addresses facts and myths about when citation is needed.
Web Sites and Citation Tools
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
MLA guide from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University. Based on the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
Part of Purdue University’s Online Writing Lab, this source covers the difficult balance between building on prior research and originality that students must reach when writing research papers. Gives instances of when credit is due and when it’s not needed. Clearly defines “common knowledge” and includes a section for writers entitled “Making Sure You are Safe.”
Plagiarism: What it is and how to Recognize and Avoid it.
This short site, created by Indiana University’s Writing Tutorial Services department, defines plagiarism and gives examples of “unacceptable” and “acceptable” paraphrasing.
The Plagiarism Court: You Be the Judge
Ramona Islam, a librarian at Fairfield University, created this “Plagiarism Avoidance Tutorial” for students. The tutorial defines plagiarism, addresses the consequences, and provides a variety of tips and strategies for avoiding plagiarism. Informational pages are followed by a quiz to test understanding.
Free citation manager that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. Offers major citation formats including MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, and many more.
Web-based citation manager. Import citations from databases to create your own personal collection. Automatically format your papers and bibliographies in any of almost 150 formats (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, CBE, etc.). Click here to access the old version of RefWorks.
CiteULike combines citation management with social networking features. Citation formats provided include APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, and some others, and items in your library can be exported into a format compatible with RefWorks and EndNote.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.