Skip to main content
Best Bets: Art & Art History
Art Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Besides art and art history, topics include advertising, antiques, archaeology, architecture, fashion, interior design, textiles, and more. Also indexed are reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. 1984-. Updated daily.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (EBSCOhost)
Indexing of art publications, including magazines, journals, museum bulletins, and reproductions. Covers fine, decorative, and commercial art. 1929-1984.
Search or browse over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
BSI is an international iconographic index of baptismal fonts from the early Christian period to the 17th century made available via the World Wide Web for scholarly research in a searchable electronic format which contains both images and text.
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art)
BHA provides citations to worldwide literature on Western art in all media. This Web version from the J. Paul Getty Trust covers the years 1990-2007 and includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English. Also included are records from IBA (International Bibliography of the History of Art) which covers 2008 and part of 2009.
Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. 1988-. Updated twice a month.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCOhost)
Indexing of nearly 1,200 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, including magazines and scholarly journals. 1907-1984.
Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Medici Archive Project
The Medici Archive Project is a non-profit international Foundation based in the Archivio di Stato in Florence, Italy with offices in the United States. This online archive project is dedicated to revealing the astonishing story of the most influential family dynasty in Western civilization: the Medici.
Grove Art Online (Oxford Art Online)
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering global art and architecture from prehistory to the present day. Includes images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. Updated regularly. 1 simultaneous user.
Philosopher’s Index (EBSCOhost)
Produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, The Philosopher’s Index covers all major fields of philosophy, including ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, axiology and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of the disciplines, such as law, religion, science, politics, history, language, and education. Provides citations and abstracts to scholarly research published in books and over 680 international journals. 1940-.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Web access to ISI citation databases (Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research. Updated weekly.
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.