Skip to main content
Best Bets: English & American Literature
African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998 (America's Historical Newspapers)
More than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles.
Search or browse over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Early American Imprints Series I: Evans 1639-1800 (America's Historical Imprints)
Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. Digitized from one of the most important collections ever produced on microform, Early American Imprints, Series I is based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography” and Roger Bristol’s supplement. Includes more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages.
European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750 (EBSCOhost)
Database of citations to European works that relate to the Americas, based on “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750." Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. 1988-. Updated twice a month.
Gale Literary Sources
Gale Literary Sources provides workflow tools and features that will enhance your Gale Literature Collections experience – topic finder, term frequency graphs, search assist functionality, mobile compatibility, and interface translation, along with an easier and more dynamic search.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCOhost)
Indexing of nearly 1,200 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, including magazines and scholarly journals. 1907-1984.
Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Literature Resource Center (Gale Cengage)
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes work overviews, plot summaries, and explications.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Indexing and abstracts of journals, books, and other materials on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. 1926-. Updated nine times a year.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (ProQuest)
Contains information on the journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography. Current. Updated every six months.
Oxford English Dictionary
Electronic version of the Oxford English Dictionary with search capabilities.
Short Story Index Retrospective (EBSCOhost)
Contains bibliographic entries on more than 150,000 short stories from the Short Story Index from its beginning in 1915 up to 1983. Cites short stories published from the 1930s to the 1980s. 1915-1983.
Philosopher’s Index (EBSCOhost)
Produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, The Philosopher’s Index covers all major fields of philosophy, including ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, axiology and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of the disciplines, such as law, religion, science, politics, history, language, and education. Provides citations and abstracts to scholarly research published in books and over 680 international journals. 1940-.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Web access to ISI citation databases (Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research. Updated weekly.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Find Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and the present. Updated quarterly.
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.