Skip to main content
Education - Articles & Databases
Please note: These databases require that you log in with your URI credentials.
This page provides details on logging in to URI-subscribed databases, journals, and more.
Education Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Provides select full text of periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in the field of education. Article indexing, 1983-. Abstracts, 1994-. Full text, 1996-.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (EBSCOhost)
Indexing of over 800 periodicals in education. 1929-1983.
Main site of the Educational Resources Information Center. Provides information on ERIC products, services, contacts, and Clearinghouses. Users should note that ERIC Digests, offered on this site, are NOT the same as ERIC Documents. 1966-.
Indexing and abstracts of journals and other materials in education. 1966-. Updated monthly.
Indexing and abstracts of journals and other materials in education, including teacher education, testing, measurement, and evaluation. 1966-. Updated monthly.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of datasets in social sciences and related areas. Data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata, may be downloaded. While accessible from anywhere, users must initially create an account while on campus, and must access the database from on-campus at least once every six months.
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL) Online
The Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL) Online is a searchable database of 7,000 curricula, frameworks, and standards, including educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. Of these, over 3,000 documents are available in full text.
LearningExpress Library provides resources to enhance school, work, or life proficiencies. Includes practice tests for the PSAT, SAT, ACT, TOEFL, GMAT, LCAT, MCAT, PCAT, GRE, GED and other standardized tests. Career resources include eBooks and eTests, resources for professional licensing exams, and other adult education materials. Access provided by AskRI
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCOhost)
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and more.
Middle Search Plus (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 341,655 photos, maps and flags.
Physical Education Index (ProQuest)
Citations and selected abstracting of journals, reports, conference proceedings, and trade and popular magazines in the field of physical education, physical fitness, health, and sports medicine. 1970-. Updated monthly.
Primary Search (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for nearly 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also provided for over 100 pamphlets, and indexing and abstracts are offered for almost 100 additional magazines. Full text dates as far back as 1990. Updated daily.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
ScienceDirect is a collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users from 1995 to the present. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Provides citations and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Web access to ISI citation databases (Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research. Updated weekly.
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.