Skip to main content
Current Resources: Legislation, Regulations, and Courts
This page will help you find current information related to Rhode Island's legislative decisions,
regulations, and courts. Most of these resources are provided electronically by the Rhode Island government. A few of the resources are available in print at the library. Use the call numbers listed to locate them in the reference section on the first floor. If you need help locating materials or completing your research, please don't hesitate to contact a librarian.
Presents the "complete and updated text of all bills introduced in the [current] session of the R.I House of Representatives. Bills may be searched by the four digit number, by bill sponsor, by R.I. General Laws citation, or by typing key words and phrases."
Code of Rhode Island Rules
URI Ref KFR35 .A24 (22 vols)
Latest Received: Current Issue
Text of all state regulations on file. Arranged by an 8-digit numbering system based on issuing agency. Indexed by subject, rule number, and citing authority.
Final Rules and Regulations Database
Hosted by the Department of the Secretary of State, which maintains the rules and regulations filed by state agencies, boards and commissions, this database allows you to search all regulations filed since January 2002. For proposed Regulations, see the link to the "Proposed Rules and Regulations Database" below.
General Assembly Web Site
Includes text of bills and legislative action taken for the current year. Full text of Public Laws back to 1994. Also includes related files such as election results and the Rhode Island constitution. Most files may be searched by keyword, sponsor, or legal citation.
Presents the text of the R.I. General Laws. Be aware that the web site is updated frequently but it warns, "This information is provisional. For matters affecting legal rights, please refer to the printed version of the appropriate official publication." These are available via the link to LexisNexis on this page.
Search the current issues of the Journals of the House of Representatives.
Legislative Committee Calendar
Presents an up-to-date legislative committee calendar.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
Proposed Rules and Regulations Database
Hosted by the Department of the Secretary of State, which maintains the rules and regulations filed by state agencies, boards and commissions, this database allows for the search of regulations that are currently proposed by such agencies, boards and commissions. Final regulations can be found in the "Final Rules and Regulations Database" above.
Presents the current Public Laws. Sort by Chapter Number, Bill Number, or Subject.
Rhode Island Government Register
URI Ref KFR36 .R48
Text of latest state rules. Includes regulations, executive orders, appointments to state offices, and opinions of the Attorney General. Subject index in the latest issue cumulates for the current year.
Search the current issues of the Journals of the Senate.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.