Skip to main content
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)
Reference Books: Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Encyclopedias provide an overview of knowledge on important subjects. General unabridged dictionaries have good coverage of terms in criminal justice, but are not as complete as dictionaries limited to a particular subject.
Guides to the literature introduce a subject field and indicate the available resources and the way to use them. Handbooks are similar to encyclopedias but cover a narrower subject area and are usually comprised of a collection of essays written by experts. Manuals provide instructions in how to perform a task
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
This encyclopedia focuses mainly on urban crimes, including burglary, drug dealing, murder, and other street crimes and scams.
Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Call Number: HV6431 .E534 2013 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
This set provides coverage of the events, individuals, groups, incidents, and trends in terrorism in the modern era.
The U. S. Justice System
Call Number: KF8700.A68 U27 2012 v. 1-3
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
"This comprehensive, three-volume set provides detailed background essays, short topical entries, and primary document excerpts that explain the organization, history, and functioning of the U.S. justice system"-- Provided by publisher
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
Call Number: URI Reference HV6017 E527 2010
Concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and concepts in criminological theory.
Black's Law Dictionary
Call Number: URI Reserves KF156 B53 2009
Standard legal authority. Citations to court decisions included when a term has been affected by legislation, court rules, or court decisions.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
Call Number: URI Ref. HV5804 E53 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The focus of the encyclopedia, in terms of organizations, policies, and social issues, is on addiction in the United States and includes a timeline showing federal involvement in drug control efforts.
Encyclopedia of Cybercrime
Call Number: URI Reference HV6773 E53 2009
Using nontechnical explanations, this encyclopedia covers all aspects of cybercrime issues, including computer abusers, cybercriminals, and the social and economic impact of cybercrimes.
Call Number: URI Reference KF9214.5 C75 2006
This three-volume reference offers 625 alphabetically-arranged articles on the "six C's" at the core of the subject: criminals (who they are and what they do); codes (laws and legislation); constitutions (the foundations, including Supreme Court cases); cops (who they are and what they do); courts; and corrections.
Encyclopedia of Child Abuse
Call Number: URI Reference HV6626.5 C57 2007
Covers all aspects of child abuse including the causes and its impact on children and the patterns among perpetrators.
Encyclopedia of Gangs
Call Number: URI Reference HV6439 U5 E53 2008
Examines gangs throughout the United States covering topics such as the history of the gang, the wide range of communities where gangs form, and their increasingly complex lifestyle.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence
Call Number: URI Reference HV9104 E59 2007
Standard source on issues and topics of juvenile violence such as gangs, drugs, and child abuse.
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime
Call Number: URI Reference HV6789 E43 2009
"Covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice."
Call Number: URI Reference HV8073 F5837 2009
"All aspects of forensics, with entries on such topics as coroners, DNA typing, improvised explosive devices, Napoleon's death, voiceprints, and tattoo identification."
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.