Skip to main content

Labor Relations: General Sources

Reference & Research Help

Ways to Get Research Help


Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk


Call Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

(401) 874-2653


Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

Click Here to Start


Email Us
(After Regular Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)

Welcome

Welcome!  This guide is designed to help you locate information about labor relations.  Use the yellow page tabs above to navigate between book, Internet, and research article sources.

To locate books on labor relations, conduct a subject search in the Library Catalog for the following SUBJECTS:

  • INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS
  • LABOR UNIONS
  • LABOR LAWS AND LEGISLATION
  • COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

These subject headings can also be combined with keywords related to your topic.  You can browse the selected books presented on the "Books by Subject" page of this guide.  To find articles about labor relations use the "Finding Articles" tab above. 

If you need further assistance please don't hesitate to contact a librarian. 

Where are the journals?

Most journals are available through the library in electronic format. To find or to gain access to an electronic journal, search the e-Journal List for the title of the periodical you are looking for.

You can find online journals as well as print journals by searching the URI Libraries Search for the title of the specific periodical. To make this easier, you can use the limiters on the left side of the screen to specify you are looking for journals or you can use the "Advanced Search" version to look specifically for journals as well.

The print journals start their lives in the Current Periodicals section on the lower level of the library (at the base of the stairs). That is where you will find journals that have been published recently, usually less than a year old.

After about a year, the journals are sent out to be bound into something resembling large books. When they return, the bound journals are sent to an area called The Serial Stacks. Here they will live out the rest of their lives. Please visit them!

For more on this and how to track down an article from a citation see:

To find articles by topic, use a reference database that allows keyword searching. Start with this link: 

Where can I find the Business databases?

To find Business articles by topic, use a reference database that allows keyword searching. Start with this link:

Where are the books?

Books with call numbers A through P are located on the third floor.
Books with call numbers Q through Z are located on the second floor.

Except...

The catalog will tell you if a book is in Reference (location = Carothers Library Reference, status = Non Circulating). The Reference Collection is on the first floor.

A book can also be in Government Publications (location = Carothers Library Govt Pub). The Government Publications section is on the first floor and consists of publications produced by both the federal government and the state of Rhode Island.

Some books are located in the Special Collections Library (location = Carothers Library RI Collection or Carothers Library Archives). The Special Collections Library is on the second floor.

Where are the Books about Labor Relations?

Most books about labor relations will have call numbers that start with HD or KF. Some will be in the Reference or Government Publications sections on the first floor, while others will be located on the third floor on the H and K shelves.

HD - Management, Industry, Labor
HF - Commerce, Business Ethics, Accounting, Advertising
KF - Law of the United States

Created & Revised by

J.B. Etchingham 6/83; rev. 11/83; rev. 6/84; rev. 7/84; rev. 12/86; rev. Andree Rathemacher 9/98; rev. Halie Posey 03/11; rev. Madge Boldt 10/13.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.