Skip to main content
Where are the Books?
Where are the Books about Labor Relations?
Most books about labor relations will have call numbers that start with HD or KF. Some will be in the Reference or Government Publications sections on the first floor, while others will be located on the third floor on the H and K shelves.
HD - Management, Industry, Labor
HF - Commerce, Business Ethics, Accounting, Advertising
KF - Law of the United States
Dictionaries, Handbooks, and Encyclopedias
Glossary of Labour Law and Industrial Relations
Call Number: URI Ref HD4839 G56 2005
Comprehensive overview of the development and current status of labor law and industrial relations issues in a globalized world. Provides definitions, but also suggests specific tools, approaches, and policies, and offers background on a number of topics pertaining to international labor standards and ILO instruments.
Labor, Employment, and the Law, A Dictionary
Call Number: URI Ref KF3317 A54 1997
"Alphabetically arranged entries provide explanations based on cases, statutes, and regulations, and commentaries covering such topics as benefits, health and safety, wages and hours, and equal opportunity.
Profiles of American Labor Unions
Call Number: URI Ref HD6504 P64 1998
"Each of the more than 280 national unions is now profiled in its own chapter. Within each national union chapter, researchers will also find information on the corresponding independent, regional, state, and local unions as well as information on any applicable bargaining agreements. It covers nearly 800 current bargaining agreements and contains more than 500 employers and their addresses."
The SAGE Handbook of Industrial Relations
Call Number: HD6971 S133 2008
"Coverage includes the theoretical and ideological underpinnings of the field; developments among the different actors engaged in IR--not only the "usual suspects" of employers and management, trade unions and national state institutions, but other relevant parties such as transnational institutions and works councils; the processes of IR; and the diverse outcomes of IR."
Trade Unions of the World
Call Number: URI Ref HD6475.2 T7 2001
Covers trade unions in every independent country in the world. Entries feature detailed coverage of key unions; details of trade union centers, including contact information, Web site URLs and international affiliations.
Your Rights in the Workplace
Call Number: URI Ref KF3455 Z9 R47 2010
"Features information on firing, wages, health insurance, medical leave, retirement plans, disability and worker's compensation insurance, discrimination, and privacy rights with up-to-date state and federal law information."
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.