Need Help?
DSM-5
The DSM-5 is a core tool for classification. The DSM-5 is available online and in print.
- DSM Library (Psychiatry Online) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Online access to the DSM Library, including the latest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR (2022). Used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5. by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating RC455.2.C4 D536 2013ISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013DSM-5 is a categorical classification of mental disorders. Its purpose is to provide clear descriptions of diagnostic categories in order to enable clinicians to diagnose and treat various mental disorders.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks
Encyclopedias provide an overview of knowledge on important subjects. General unabridged dictionaries have good coverage of terms in psychology, but are not as complete as dictionaries limited to a particular subject.
A History of Psychology : Original Sources and Contemporary Research by
Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks BF81 H58 2009ISBN: 9781405177115Publication Date: 2009Introduction to all aspects of psychology from the origin to contemporary issues and subjects written by global scholars.ALA Guide to Sociology & Psychology Reference by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating HM585 A53 2011ISBN: 9780838910252Publication Date: 2011An annotated bibliography focusing on all aspects and issues of sociology and psychology reference services. A great reference tool.APA Concise Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating BF31 A65 2009ISBN: 9781433803918Publication Date: 2009Includes the etymology of a term, synonyms, derived words, cross-references “and broad coverage of the field's many subspecialties and approaches.”Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating BF31 C28 2009ISBN: 9780521854702Publication Date: 2009With many keywords central to contemporary psychology this is a useful tool of clear, concise definitions and psychological terms.Campbell's Psychiatric Dictionary by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating RC437 H5 2009ISBN: 9780195341591Publication Date: 2009Clearly written, this one volume covers all concepts, words and terms in mental health issues, including treatments.Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating BF31 E52 2010ISBN: 9780470170243Publication Date: 2010A comprehensive reference tool covering a wide range of general and specialized resources across all psychological disciplines.Encyclopedia of Adolescence by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating HQ796 .E582 2011ISBN: 9780123739155Publication Date: 2011Research articles in this three volume set discuss normative processes in development, interpersonal and sociocultural factors and psychopathology and non-normative processes.Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating R726.5 E53 2004ISBN: 0761923608Publication Date: 2004Basic definition and detailed description and summary of each topic are listed with indexes and cross-references.
Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating BF204.6 E53 2009ISBN: 9781405161251Publication Date: 2009Extensive research of this recent branch of psychology is discussed in great detail by leading educators and practitioners in the field.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating RC437 G36 2012ISBN: 9781414490120Publication Date: 2012-06-13A clearly organized resource of mental health disorders and medications with concise descriptions of symptoms and treatments.Psychologist's Companion : A Guide to Writing Scientific Papers for Students and Researchers by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating BF76.8 S73 2010ISBN: 9780521195713Publication Date: 2010Provides a step-by-step approach to constructing and formulating a research paper or article. Tips from experts for better writing as well as sample papers are included.Psychology & Mental Health by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating BF636 S25 2010ISBN: 9781587655562Publication Date: 2010This set discusses not only theories, social issues, and life stages but also the physiological aspects of health and illness.Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: Carothers Library Research Help Desk BF76.7 P83 2010ISBN: 1433805596Sixth edition of the APA Publication Manual.Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating Z695.1 P7 T48 2007ISBN: 9781591479260Publication Date: 2007An important reference tool of vocabulary used by the American Psychological Association that will enhance search queries; an essential tool.
