Need Help?
Search Phrases
Suggested searches (substitute language preference as necessary):
Latin American literature
Chinese culture
German and political discourse
Logical (Boolean) Operators
Using logical (Boolean) operators such as "AND", "OR", and "NOT" can help
narrowing down your search and identifying the most relevant articles. Use "AND" to retrieve articles on both keywords. Use "OR" to retrieve
articles on either one of the terms or both. Use "NOT" to exclude the
information that you do not need. Limiting by publication year, type of article, document type, or physical description can also help you find relevant articles.
Recommended Library Databases
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Guide to scholarship on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. International in scope, the MLA Bibliography covers scholarly publications including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Full text for more than 1,000 journals.
- What dates are covered? Early 20th century - Present.
- Gale Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes work overviews, plot summaries, and explications.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
- ITER Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
- What dates are covered? 400 AD - 1700 AD.
- HLAS Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Online version of the Handbook of Latin American Studies. Bibliography containing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers in the humanities and social sciences relating to Latin America. Entries are selected and annotated by scholars in the field. Updated annually.
- What dates are covered? 1936 - Present.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
Other Library Databases
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.