Skip to main content
The following resources relate specifically to Native American treaties. The United States and native tribes have a long history of treaties dating back to 1778. Information on the treaty making process and how to do treaty research may be found in Treaties and Other International Agreements: The Role of the United States Senate: A Study. This is available as a .pdf here and in print at URI in the government publications section, (Govt. Pub Y 4.F 76/2:S.PRT.106-7).
Indian affairs : laws and treaties
Call Number: URI Govt Pub Y 4.In 2/2:L 44/ Vol. 1-7
Publication Date: 1975-1979
Considered the definitive authority on Native American Nations treaties. First two volumes contain the text of treaties. Vols. 1-5 are reprints of the 1904-1941 ed. Vols. 6-7 issued by the Dept. of the Interior, with title: Kappler's Indian affairs commonly known as the Kappler report. Includes indexes.
Note: Oklahoma State has digitized this title and is available here.
Early American Indian Documents
Call Number: URI REF KF8202 1979 Vol. 1-7
Publication Date: 1987
This collection of documents is broken down by geographic region as follows:
Vol 1: Pennsylvania and Delaware Treaties, 1629-1737 edited by Donald H Kent
Vol 2: Pennsylvania Treaties, 1737-1756 edited by Donald H Kent
Vol 4: Virginia treaties, 1607-1722 edited by W Stitt Robinson
Vol 5: Virginia Treaties, 1723-1775 edited by W Stitt Robinson
Vol 6: Maryland Treaties, 1632-1775 edited by W Stitt Robinson
Vol 7: New York and New Jersey Treaties, 1609-1682 edited by Barbara Graymont.
Treaties with American Indians
Call Number: URI REF KF8203.6 T74 2008 Vol. 1-3
Publication Date: 2007
Broken down into three volumes, this resource provides essays, treaties history, primary source documents, a chronology and index.
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law
Call Number: URI REF KF8205 E525 2009
Publication Date: 2008
This two volume set examines the relationship between the United States Indian Policy and Law. The set is broken down into essays and a A to Z entries dealing with important issues. Includes bibliographical references and index.
American Treaties and Alliances
Call Number: URI Ref KZ236 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Broken down into sections by theme and chronological order, this title features various alliances and treaties. Includes bibliographic references and index.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexing of journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. 1914-. Updated monthly.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.