Skip to main content
Finding OA journals in which to publish
Try these sources to help identify open access journals in your field of research:
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory of open access, peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals. It lists more than 10,000 OA journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, and humanities. Journals included must conform to publishing best practice and basic standards for inclusion. (See https://doaj.org/publishers). The DOAJ may be searched by keyword or browsed by subject. Results can be filtered by whether the journal charges an article processing charge, journal license, publisher, country of publisher, full text language, type of peer review, and other criteria.
ROAD, the Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
Directory of open access scholarly resources that have been assigned an ISSN by the ISSN Network. Includes journals, conference proceedings, academic repositories, monographic series, and scholarly blogs. Use Advanced Search to search by Theatic area / Subject and filter by Language, Publication type, indexing/abstracting services, Countries, and other criteria.
QOAM: Quality Open Access Market
QOAM is a market place for scientific and scholarly journals which publish articles in open access. Quality scoring of the journals in QOAM is based on academic crowd sourcing.
Free tool to find the best journal for your research. Includes open access and subscription journals.
Edanz Journal Selector
Search close to 30,000 journals and over 12 million abstracts to find journals on your topic. Impact Factor range and open access options can be specified. Offered by a company that provides editing services for authors.
Identify journals by subject, peer review system, open access options, turnaround time, and other criteria. Offered by Cofactor, an editing consultancy.
Jane (Journal/Author Name Estimator)
Enter the title and abstract of your paper in the search box and Jane will find matching journal, author, and article results from Medline. Best for medical and life-sciences related research. Results can be limited by language, publication type, and open access options.
Indexes over 30,000 journals, a small portion of which are open access. To identify OA journals in your field, click on “Browse Sources” and limit by subject area and source type, then check “Display only Open Access journals.” For each entry, search results include SCImago Journal Rank (a measure of the journal’s prestige), Impact per Publication, and Source Normalized Impact per Paper. You can also download the SCOPUS Title List in Excel format and filter to Open Access status.
InCites Journal Citation Reports (Thomson Reuters)
Allows browsing of journals by subject area and filtering results by “Open Access”. Primarily covers journals in the sciences and social sciences and only includes journals for which Thomson/Reuters has calculated an Impact Factor.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Web of Science indexes over 12,000 high impact, peer-reviewed journals, a small portion of which are open access. Search for a topic, then filter the results by Open Access to get a sense of which open access journals are popular within your field of research.
The URI Open Access Fund is managed by the University Libraries.
Financial support for the fund is provided by the Office of the Provost and the Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development.
Reimbursements are processed through the Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development.
University Libraries contact:
Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development contact:
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.