Skip to main content
An Overview of Polling
This resource provides an overview of topics in polling practice. Includes glossary of polling terms. The "Analyzing Polls" section includes information and advice on both computer-assisted and qualitative analysis.
American attitudes : what Americans think about the issues that shape their lives
Call Number: URI REF HN90 P8 M58 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Compilation of survey results from the University of Chicago's National Opinion Research Center. Displays results of same questions polled from 1972-2006, as well as some 2006-only surveys. Broad focus on a wide range of social issues and lifestyle questions. Includes index.
The Gallup Poll
Call Number: URI REF HN 90 P8 G35
Publication Date: Annual. 1935-
Results of the Gallup Poll reports released to the American public during each respective year. Includes index.
The Gallup Poll Cumulative Index
Call Number: URI REF HN90 P8 G29 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Polls on various topics of contemporary public interest chronologically. Post-1971 volumes include a chronology of major events for the period covered. Individual volumes include indexes. The Cumulative Index is organized by subject.
Carnegie Endowment -- Polling and Public Opinion Resources.
Annotated list of links to resources on polling focused on the U.S. and those focused abroad, as well as some academic sources. Some print sources also included.
CBS Interactive Inc.
Survey questions and poll results based on CBS News polls conducted since 1976.
Database of pan-European polls on public attitudes towards European Union-related issues. Polls generally collected into large reports, with topics ranging from feelings about EU membership to attitudes about alcohol use. Many reports have country-specific variants, although those tend to be in their native language. Organized by type of report and date published.
"Gallup has studied human nature and behavior for more than 75 years" and is known worldwide. Includes Gallup's Daily news.
Harris Interactive Inc. (Harris Poll)
Established in 1963, the Harris Poll survey results are very often quoted in the news media.
Pew Research Center for the People & The Press
"The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues."
Timely cross-section of poll data on topics of national political, economic, and sociocultural interest from national polling firms such as Gallup, Harris, CBS/NYT, NBC/WSJ, etc.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.