Need Help?
Scholarly & Research Articles
- Art Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Topics include art, art history, advertising, antiques, archaeology, architecture, fashion, interior design, textiles, and more. Also includes information about reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
- What dates are covered? 1984-. Updated daily.
- Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Updated twice a month.
- What dates are covered? Mostly 1970s - present, with some older coverage
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Guide to scholarship on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. International in scope, the MLA Bibliography covers scholarly publications including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Full text for more than 1,000 journals.
- What dates are covered? Early 20th century - Present.
- Music Index Online (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. In addition to journal articles, it provides citations for book reviews, obituaries and news articles.
- What dates are covered? 1970 - Present.
Popular Media & Newspaper Articles
- African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998 (America's Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? More than 350 U.S. newspapers covering a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles.
What dates are covered? 1827-1998
- Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Access almost 100 years of cultural history with citations to over 3 million articles that appeared in 373 leading U.S. magazines.
- What dates are covered? 1890 - Present.
Online Resources
- H-AfrLitCine
This link opens in a new window
Intended for scholars and researchers, "H-AfrLitCine is an H-Net Network discussing African Literature and Cinema."
Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
This is just a small selection of biographical materials available. For more sources, search the URI Libraries Search, or ask for assistance from a librarian.
African American National Biography by Call Number: URI REF E185.96 A4466 2008ISBN: 9780195160192Publication Date: 2008-02-18This multi-volume set contains a wealth of information on famous African Americans. Each article includes a list of further readings and information about locating published obituaries where available.
100 Most Popular African American Authors by Call Number: URI REF PS153 N5 D74 2007ISBN: 1591583225Publication Date: 2006Brief biographies of 100 African American authors. Each entry includes a list of works by the author and further readings.
African American Architects by Call Number: URI REF NA736 A47 2004ISBN: 0415929598Publication Date: 2004Contains brief biographies of notable African American architects, written by scholars and researchers. Search for information by architect, state or country where buildings are sited, or by name of project.
Black Lenses, Black Voices by Call Number: PN1995.9 N4 R43 2005ISBN: 0742526429Publication Date: 2005Covers the history and theory of African American film and focuses on early African American film, Black family film from the 1990s, action and horror films, Black female centered African American film and independent film.
Cambridge History of African American Literature by Call Number: URI PS153.N5 G685 2011Publication Date: 2011A comprehensive overview, covering over 400 hundred years of the literary traditions of African Americans.
Contemporary African American Literature by Call Number: PS153.N5 C644 2013ISBN: 9780253006257Publication Date: 2012Available in print and online. A compilation of a series of essays by literary scholars exploring a wide variety of topics from African American satirists, street literature, women writers and hip hop fiction, post oppression fiction, black folk figure narratives in comics and more in this compelling collection.
Origins of the Dream by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780813060446Publication Date: 2015Drawing on archival materials, including notes, correspondence, and marginalia, W. Jason Miller provides a completely original and compelling argument that Hughes's influence on King's rhetoric was, in fact, evident in more than just the one famous speech.
