Skip to main content
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)
Civil and Environmental Engineering Databases
These databases contain articles and resources that are usable for various aspects of civil and environmental engineering. While general databases such as Academic Search Complete can be useful for broad topics, the databases listed below are better tools for technical research into specific disciplines like civil or environmental engineering.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest)
Find citations to and full text of articles, proceedings, reports, and studies about environmental studies, pollution, waste management, energy, land use and environmental design. Includes the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases. 1960-
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Indexing and abstracts of professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1970-. Updated weekly. Links to articles open in a pop-up window, so you will need to deactivate the pop-up blocker on your browser to connect to full text.
DOE Information Bridge
Indexes Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored scientific and technical reports. Replaces the print publication Energy Research Abstracts. 1995-. Updated weekly.
Energy Citations Database
Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), this database indexes and provides abstracts for technical reports in energy-related disciplines. Includes links to full text when available. 1948-.
IEEE Xplore (IEEE)
Full-text access to IEEE journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings from approximately 125 of the most important IEEE conferences, and selected e-books. Also includes IEEE Spectrum Magazine. Browse tables of contents or search by author or keyword.
Inspec (Engineering Village)
Inspec provides abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical literature. Inspec provides coverage from over 3,400 journals, 2,000 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports in the subject areas of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, and production, mechanical engineering, and more. This database is produced by the IET. 1969-.
National Climatic Data Center (NCDS)
Access to monthly temperature, pressure, precipitation, and other measurements for approximately 2,000 surface data collection stations worldwide; storm data by state; and local climatic data for several hundred U.S. cities. On campus use only.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
A title keyword index to over 750,000 NTIS reports, datafiles, CD-ROMs, and audiovisual materials. 1990-.
ScienceDirect is a collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users from 1995 to the present. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
NUtranlit (formerly TRANweb Transportation Article File)
NUtranlit, produced by the Northwestern University Transportation Library, is an index of transportation and law enforcement articles and conference proceedings.
TRIS Online (Transportation Research Information Service)
Offered by the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics, this site provides citations and abstracts for transportation research covered in books, journal articles, technical reports. Other media, federal, state, local, and association publications and conference proceedings are also covered. The database extends from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage before 1960.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Databases
Full text database of all U.S. patents issued since 1790.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Web access to ISI citation databases (Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research. Updated weekly.
Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.
If we're not online, please email us at email@example.com. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.
ENTRI: Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators
Provided by the Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network, ENTRI is a comprehensive online search service for finding information about environmental treaties and natural resource indicators. Contains the full text of many treaties.
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program
Produced by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the TRI Program is a database of information about releases and transfers of toxic chemicals from manufacturing facilities. Searchable by area, facility, industry, parent company, and destination of off-site transfer.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.