Skip to main content

Curriculum Materials Library: Collection Development Policies

An introduction to the CML at URI, its services, and resources.

Collection Description

Collection Description

 

Juvenile and Young Adult Books

The collection contains children and young adult materials, fiction and nonfiction, for pre K-12 such as classics, picture books, wordless picture books, beginning-to-read books, nursery rhymes, biographies, folk literature, fairy tales, mythology, modern fantasy, poetry, and plays. Cataloged according to the Library of Congress Classification System.

Textbooks

The CML houses a pre K-12 textbook collection in curricular subjects such as language arts, social studies, mathematics, and science, with a focus on state adopted textbooks. Elementary and secondary textbooks, most of them teacher guides, are available in current editions. They are cataloged according to the Library of Congress Classification System.

Reference Materials

The CML reference collection contains materials intended for pre-service teachers as well as children and young adults such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, source books, books of lists, indexes, teaching standards, and reviewing sources for educational media, software, and technology. Reference materials are cataloged according to the Library of Congress Classification System.

Professional Resources

This collection provides professional teaching materials pre K-12 designed to enhance lesson preparation and classroom teaching experiences of pre-service teachers. Professional Resources materials cover curriculum areas such as idea and activity, teaching methods, unit and lesson plans, classroom management, psychology of learning, or education theories. These books are cataloged according to the Library of Congress Classification System.

Media Materials

The Curriculum Materials Library has a small collection of educational media materials such as CD’s, DVD’s, video and audiocassettes. These resources are cataloged according to the Library of Congress Classification System, media materials.

Kits and games

The Curriculum Materials Library houses a collection of kits, manipulatives, games, and other non-book materials covering all curriculum areas and subjects. These materials are used for lesson planning, developing learning activities, bulletin boards, or graphic organizers. These materials are cataloged according to the Library of Congress Classification System.

 

Software

The Curriculum Materials Library offers instructional and web design software such as Inspiration, Kidspiration, Inspire Data, Boardmaker.

Selection of CML Materials

  1. CML materials are selected based on the following criteria:
    1. Correlation to the curriculum
    2. Areas of collection weakness
    3. Observed needs of students
    4. Consultation with faculty in the School of Education
    5. Literary and technical quality
    6. Currency
    7. Accuracy of information
    8. Authority of author, publisher, etc.
    9. Cost of item in relation to the budget, the needs of all areas, and the relative value in comparison with other available products
  2. Diversity of formats, subject matter, views and grade level
  3. The Curriculum Materials Librarian will consult authoritative review sources such as library and discipline-oriented journals, books and relevant databases in order to ensure the collection of high quality materials. Care is taken to ensure that materials are unbiased and balanced regarding ethnic, racial, religious, disability, social, and gender content coverage
  4. Final selection decisions are the responsibility of the Curriculum Materials Librarian
  5. The CML maintains the Professional and Curriculum collections through annual allocations from the university and private donations. New materials are purchased every year

Scope

  1. Examples of materials to be collected in the CML include but are not limited to:
    1. State Adopted Textbooks (preK-12, all subjects)
    2. Reference and Professional Resources print and electronic materials
    3. Lesson Plans, Curriculum Guides and Standards, and Learning activities
    4. Professional Educational Software
    5. Children and Young Adult Literature in English, Spanish, Italian, German, and Portuguese
    6. Non-print Materials such as kits, puppets, posters, pictures, and media
    7. Educational computer software
    8. Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL) online collection
  2. Resources written in the English language will be collected; materials used to teach foreign languages/multicultural education classes are included
  3. Teaching materials published within the last ten years will be collected; selected items of historical or research value will be retained
  4. Materials that feature educational methods and resources used in the United States will be collected; the focus will be on materials used in Rhode Island local school districts where teacher students receive field placement
  5. Emphasis will be placed on collecting materials on gender issues, disability, underserved populations, diversity, and multicultural issues

Formats

  1. Children and Young Adult materials for pre K-12 such as classics, picture books, wordless picture books, beginning-to-read books, folk literature, fairy tales, mythology, modern fantasy, poetry, plays, fiction and nonfiction. Emphasis will be given to award-winning books and authors, as well as books about local culture and local authors
  2. State, regional, and national curriculum guides and teaching standards; local curriculum guides will be collected comprehensively
  3. Textbooks pre K-12 in all curricular subjects with a focus on state adopted textbooks
  4. Professional teaching materials preK-12 designed to enhance lesson preparation and classroom teaching experiences of pre-service teachers are collected in all curriculum areas such as idea and activity, teaching methods, unit and lesson plans, classroom management, or bulletin board idea materials
  5. Reference materials intended for pre-service teachers as well as children and young adults are collected such as children’ literature indexes and bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and indexes and reviewing sources for educational media, software, and technology
  6. Non-print materials are collected designed to support lesson plan and class preparation such as educational media, software, technology, kits, games, and puppets.

Evaluation and Maintenance of CML Materials

Periodic evaluation of the CML is necessary in order to anticipate and respond to changes in university curriculum, educational trends, cooperative collection development agreements, long-range planning, budget, and to identify the collection’s development and management needs.

Assessment
A collection assessment will be conducted every 5 years in order to examine the collection’s strengths, weaknesses, levels of collection, physical condition, age, and use. The information is used to inform and adjust the current collection policies, mission, and long-term goals of the CML.

  1. Weeding: Materials deemed inappropriate for the CML will be removed from the collection at the discretion of the Curriculum Materials Librarian based on the following criteria:
    1. Record of use/circulation:
      • Materials that have not circulated in 5 years
    2. Accuracy and currency of content:
      • Materials that contain outdated, factually inaccurate content
      • Materials that contain outdated illustrations that perpetuate sexist or cultural stereotypes
      • Materials that no longer appear in standard listings
    3. Physical condition or appearance:
      • Materials that are worn and display dirty, brittle, yellow, or missing pages, battered covers, or shoddy binding
  2. Replacement: Materials that are discarded, lost, damaged, or outdated will be repaired or replaced at the discretion of the Curriculum Materials Librarian. Damaged or outdated materials that are used heavily may be replaced by newer editions of the same title or more current titles with similar content.
  3. Gifts: The CML will accept or reject donated materials in accordance with the criteria established in the University Libraries Gift Policy.

Adapted after ALA EBSS “A Guide to Writing CMC Collection Development Policies,” 2007.

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.