Need Help?
Databases
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles in professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1884 - Present. Updated weekly.
- What else should I know? Links to articles open in a pop-up window, so you will need to deactivate the pop-up blocker on your browser to connect to full text.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical literature. Provides coverage from over 3,400 journals, 2,000 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports in the subject areas of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, and production, mechanical engineering, and more.
- What dates are covered? 1898 - Present.
- What else should I know? This database is produced by the IET.
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service, CAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to 1,600 key chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering journals and selectively cites to 8,000 more, plus conference proceedings, patents, technical reports, and other materials. Also contains information on chemical substances and reactions, regulations, and chemical suppliers. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1907 - Present.
- What else should I know? To use this index: you must be a URI student, staff, or faculty member with a valid email address ending in "uri.edu." You will need to go to the CAS registration site from a URI computer and set up an account with CAS. The password selection process requires close attention to the password criteria and may take several tries. Successful registration results in an email with a link which you must click to finish registration.
