Skip to main content
Scholarly & Research Articles
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
Popular Media & Newspaper Articles
New York Times Article Archive
Search the complete backfile of The New York Times by keyword, author, or headline. Includes articles, advertisements, and listings through 1995; articles only after 1995. Full content in PDF format (1851-1995) or text-only format (1996-) may be purchased online. (Note that articles are also available on microfilm in many libraries and online in library databases.) 1851-. Updated daily.
Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards (Gale Cengage)
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (of London). Includes every complete page of every issue from 1785.
Centre for the Study of Ancient Documents (Oxford University)
Provides images of ancient documents, including information on materials and texts.
Electronic Antiquity (Virginia Tech)
Online journal related to research and study of ancient history, hosted by Virginia Tech.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Provided by Fordham University, this site provides links to translations of source documents.
Jerusalem Virtual Library: The Academic Database on Historic Jerusalem
A joint project of Al Quds University and the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, this provides access to documents, photos, plans, maps, illustrations, and more.
LacusCurtius: Into the Roman World
Hosted by the University of Chicago, this site provides access to texts and maps of Ancient Rome.
Perseus Digital Library (Tufts University)
Digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. Includes ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, art catalogs, secondary essays, and more.
Encyclopedias & Reference Resources
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean
Call Number: URI Reference DE59 C55 1988 v.1-v.3
Publication Date: 1988
Not just about history, the three volumes cover a variety of topics including the arts, philosophy, economics, technology, women, private and social life, and more. The articles are great starting point for exploring topics for classical research, and include bibliographies for further reading.
Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Classical World
Call Number: URI Reference DE5 I55
Publication Date: 1976
This one volume encyclopedia includes short entries on a variety of topics relating to ancient history. The volume contains numerous illustrations, and articles are followed by short bibliographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Call Number: URI Reference DE5 O95 2010 v.1-v.7
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia provides biographical, historical, and additional information about ancient Greece and ancient Rome. It includes a chronology of important events in Rome, Greece, as well as arts, culture, philosophy, and more. Articles include extensive bibliographies and images.
Oxford History of the Classical World
Call Number: URI Reference DE59 O94 1986
Publication Date: 1986
This volume contains essays on a variety of topics in ancient history. It also includes a series of color images and a number of maps.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.