Skip to main content
There are several databases that can help you locate articles on History-related topics. For more information on these and other applicable databases, please stop by the Info & Research Help Desk.
History-related databases are listed under URI Library > Find Articles & Online Resources > Arts & Humanities, but it is a good idea to peruse some of the other subject areas as they may have databases that cover your topic.
You can get to a complete list of databases from: URI Library > Find Articles & Online Resources > All Databases by Title.
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
Gnomon Bibliographic Database
Provides citations to articles published in the journal Gnomon since 1928, as well as books and articles listed in the quarterly bibliographic appendix to Gnomon since 1990.
Databases at Brown
There a few databases at Brown that provide information about articles from journals not contained in any URI databases. You will need to be at Brown's library to access these - you can not access them remotely.
List of Classics Databases at Brown
This list of Classics databases includes several that may be useful for your research, such as DYABOLA and Humanities International Index. You must be on campus at Brown to use these resources.
The databases above might not go back as far as you'd like. You may need to consult the print sources below.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.