Need Help?
Where to start your book search
The Robert L. Carothers Library and Learning Commons contains a wide variety of books to support your course work in GSLIS. Whether you're exploring issues in reference, technology, cataloging, management, ethics, archives, or information literacy, the library offers both print and electronic resources to meet your needs.
Search the catalog by keyword, subject, author or title. Identify the items you need and follow the Library of Congress call number to the proper locations.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Other places to search for books
Google Books and WorldCat are also important resources for book searching.
- Google Books
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a somewhat random search of books scattered across the country. Some full text searching of books, and some full text viewing of out-of-copyright materials. You may be able to request books viewed via Interlibrary Loan.
Keyword vs. subject searching: Which is best?
- InfoRhodeThese short information literacy tutorials will help you learn, or refresh, basic college-level information research skills. They explain how to find, evaluate, and cite books and periodical articles using the University Libraries' catalog and databases.
LIS Dictionaries
These books provide a starting place for research and exploration in the field of library and information studies.The reference materials on this page can help you gain a broad overview of librarianship, decode library jargon and abbreviations, and begin to understand the language of cataloging. Reference books are located in the Reference section of the URI Library, Kingston campus; they are for "Library Use Only" and may not be checked out.
Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Call Number: URI Ref Z1006 R45 2004ISBN: 1563089629Libraries Unlimited, 2004
Dictionary for School Library Media Specialists: a Practical and Comprehensive Guide by Call Number: URI Ref Z1006 M43 2001ISBN: 1563086964Publication Date: 2001
Dictionary of Information Science and Technology by Call Number: URI Ref T58.5 D499 2007 (2 vols.)ISBN: 1599043858Publication Date: 2007
Subject Encyclopedias for LIS
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences by Call Number: URI Ref Z1006 E57 2010, v. 1-7ISBN: 9780849397127Revised edition, 2010.Encyclopedia of the Library of Congress : For Congress, the Nation & the World by
Call Number: URI Ref Z733 U6 E53 2004ISBN: 0890599718Includes 15 pages of glossy color photos.International Encyclopedia of Information and Library Science by
Call Number: URI Ref Z1006 I57 2003ISBN: 0415259010Routledge, 2003
