Need Help?
Where Might Citing Articles Appear?
If you're looking to see who's cited your work, you need to consider the disciplines that might find your work useful. Your work is likely useful in your own discipline, but if your work might be useful to scholars in other disciplines, try the tools they might use for research. For example, if your research is primarily in Biology, but has implications in the Psychology field, you may also want to search PsycINFO in addition to Scopus.
Keep in mind that no one tool provides one-stop shopping. It's likely you'll need to explore multiple platforms.
Best Bets
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
One of Google's specialized search tools, Google Scholar focuses primarily on information from scholarly and peer-reviewed sources. By using the Scholar Preferences page, you can link back to URI's subscriptions for access to many otherwise fee-based articles.
Other Databases/Tools with "Cited By" Information
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracts of journal articles and books in psychology, including applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. Updated twice weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1597 - Present.
About this guide...
This guide was created by Andrée Rathemacher, Julia Lovett, and Amanda Izenstark, 3/2014.
Updated 2/2014, 4/2015, and 1/2018.