Browse By Subject
- Africana Studies
- Art
- Articles & Databases
- Arts & Humanities
- Assignments
- Biological Sciences
- Business
- Business, Labor, and Economics
- Cell & Molecular Biology
- Chemical Engineering
- Chemistry
- Civil & Environmental Engineering
- Communication Studies
- Communicative Disorders
- Computer Science & Statistics
- Economics
- Education
- Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering
- Engineering & Technology
- English
- Environmental & Natural Resource Economics
- Film Studies
- Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science
- Gender & Women’s Studies
- General & Reference
- General Library Information
- Geosciences
- Government Publications
- Government, Politics, and Law
- Health Sciences
- History
- Hot Topics
- Human Development & Family Studies
- Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
- Internet Resources
- Journalism
- Kinesiology
- Labor Relations & Human Resources
- Landscape Architecture
- Languages
- Languages & Literatures, Modern & Classical
- Law
- Library & Information Studies
- Life Sciences, Marine & Environment
- Marine Affairs
- Mathematics
- Mechanical Engineering
- Music
- Natural Resources
- Nursing
- Nutrition & Food Science
- Ocean Engineering
- Pharmacy
- Philosophy
- Physical & Mathematical Sciences
- Physical Therapy
- Physics
- Plant Sciences
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Rhode Island and New England
- Social Sciences
- Sociology & Anthropology
- Textiles, Fashion Merchandising & Design
- Theatre
- Writing & Rhetoric
General Library Information
Accessing Reserves Material
- Last Updated Jun 13, 2013
This is a brief guide to help you quickly locate material on Reserve.
- Last Updated Jun 13, 2013
This is a brief guide to help you quickly locate material on Reserve.
Citing Correctly and Avoiding Plagiarism
- Last Updated Feb 4, 2013
This is a guide to resources about avoiding plagiarism and citing sources correctly.
- Last Updated Feb 4, 2013
This is a guide to resources about avoiding plagiarism and citing sources correctly.
Evaluating Information
- Last Updated Mar 25, 2013
This guide will help you evaluate information you find on the web, in databases, books, and elsewhere.
- Last Updated Mar 25, 2013
This guide will help you evaluate information you find on the web, in databases, books, and elsewhere.
Fair Use and Copyright for Online Education
- Last Updated Jun 18, 2013
Presents copyright concerns regarding online instruction and offers guidance in applying fair use when appropriate.
- Last Updated Jun 18, 2013
Presents copyright concerns regarding online instruction and offers guidance in applying fair use when appropriate.
Finding Articles
- Last Updated Sep 8, 2010
This guide will lead you through the steps for finding articles.
- Last Updated Sep 8, 2010
This guide will lead you through the steps for finding articles.
Getting Started @ The Libraries
- Last Updated May 15, 2013
Welcome to URI! This is a guide to help you find your way around the URI University Libraries - including the Robert L. Carothers Library and Learning Commons in Kingston, the CCE Library in Providence, and the Pell Marine Science Library in Narragansett.
- Last Updated May 15, 2013
Welcome to URI! This is a guide to help you find your way around the URI University Libraries - including the Robert L. Carothers Library and Learning Commons in Kingston, the CCE Library in Providence, and the Pell Marine Science Library in Narragansett.
Identifying Scholarly/Professional Journal Articles
- Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
How can you tell if something is scholarly, professional, or popular? Here are a few clues.
- Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
How can you tell if something is scholarly, professional, or popular? Here are a few clues.
Library Frustration Relief
- Last Updated Sep 8, 2010
This guide offers some tips for using the Libraries successfully.
- Last Updated Sep 8, 2010
This guide offers some tips for using the Libraries successfully.
Library Research Checklist
- Last Updated Sep 8, 2010
This is a brief list of steps to help you research effectively.
- Last Updated Sep 8, 2010
This is a brief list of steps to help you research effectively.
Library Research Tips & Tricks
- Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
This guide presents some tools and tricks you can use to make your research easier.
- Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
This guide presents some tools and tricks you can use to make your research easier.
Media Resource Center
- Last Updated Mar 8, 2013
The Media Resource Center (MRC) is the URI Library’s primary collection of materials in electronic non-print (audio and visual) formats. The MRC collection is intended to support the broad range of study and research interests on campus.
- Last Updated Mar 8, 2013
The Media Resource Center (MRC) is the URI Library’s primary collection of materials in electronic non-print (audio and visual) formats. The MRC collection is intended to support the broad range of study and research interests on campus.
New E-Resources at the University Libraries
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
Electronic resources purchased by the University of Rhode Island libraries within the last year
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
Electronic resources purchased by the University of Rhode Island libraries within the last year
Reference Managers: Mendeley & Zotero
- Last Updated Mar 8, 2013
This guide provides introductory information about two citation managers, Mendeley and Zotero.
- Last Updated Mar 8, 2013
This guide provides introductory information about two citation managers, Mendeley and Zotero.
Using the Internet for Research
- Last Updated Sep 2, 2010
A brief guide to efficiently and effectively using the internet for college-level research
- Last Updated Sep 2, 2010
A brief guide to efficiently and effectively using the internet for college-level research
Welcome to the Library
- Last Updated Jun 5, 2012
The Robert L. Carothers Library and Learning Commons extends a warm welcome to all new and returning students, staff and faculty
- Last Updated Jun 5, 2012
The Robert L. Carothers Library and Learning Commons extends a warm welcome to all new and returning students, staff and faculty
Contact Information |
Click on the green arrow to open the chat in a new window. If we're not online, please email us at urilibrarian@gmail.com. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response. Contact Info Kingston: (401) 874-2653 Providence: (401) 277-5130 Narragansett: (401) 874-6161 Send Email |


