APA Format, 5th Edition
Chicago, 15th ed., Author-Date
Chicago, 15th ed., Humanities (Notes-Bibliography)
This is the "Home" page of the "Citing Correctly and Avoiding Plagiarism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing Correctly and Avoiding Plagiarism   Tags: apa, chicago, citations, mla, plagiarism  

This is a guide to resources about avoiding plagiarism and citing sources correctly.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2013 URL: http://uri.libguides.com/cite Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference & Research Help

Five Ways to Get Research Help

Spring Semester 2014


Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk

Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Call Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

(401) 874-2653


Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Click Here to Start


Text Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Regular Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

Introduction

This is a guide to information about correctly citing references and avoiding plagiarism, for both faculty and students.

What is plagiarism? Many students have heard the classic definition, that it's using someone else's work without citing the source. Plagiarism can take other forms, however, including:

  • Re-arranging an author's words (paraphrasing) and using it without a citation
  • Using someone else's ideas without citing the source
  • Using a photograph or image and not including a citation
  • Submitting the same paper for two different assignments

Sometimes, plagiarism is accidental. A few strategies can help anyone avoid accidental plagiarism:

  • Allow plenty of time to research and write papers and presentations
  • Take complete notes, and include author's names and page numbers for easy reference later
  • Use the citation tools available in databases, word processing software, and online
  • Consult the style guides for the format, such as the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, the MLA Handbook, etc.

If you need more help, here are some resources:

  • The University Libraries
    The Libraries have copies of the various style guides and can help you determine the right format for your citation. You can visit the Libraries, call, or chat with the Info & Research Help Desk at the Robert L. Carothers Library and Learning Commons.
  • The Writing Center
    Tutors are available to help you understand, organize, and cite your written assignments.
  • Your Professors
    If you're not sure about the details, format, or requirements of an assignment or project, your professors can offer clarification.

URI Policies on Plagiarism & Cheating

  • University Manual
    Published by the Faculty senate, this is the official manual of the University. Chapter 8, “Academic Regulations,” includes “Regulations for Students.” The section on “Academic Requirements” http://www.uri.edu/facsen/8.20-8.27.html covers academic honesty and disciplinary actions that may be taken as a result of violations. To view the manual in its entirety, use the University Manual link on the left side of the main page.
  • University of Rhode Island Student Handbook
    Published by the Office of Student Life, this handbook describes the rules and regulations pertaining to students. The first section covers academic honesty in written work and on exams, outlines the instructor's responsibilities, and describes “consequences.”

Need help?

Profile Image
URI Librarian

Click on the green arrow to open the chat in a new window. If we're not online, please email us at urilibrarian@gmail.com. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.

Contact Info
Kingston: (401) 874-2653
Providence: (401) 277-5130
Narragansett: (401) 874-6161
Send Email
 

Created / Updated

Created: A. Izenstark, 8/05.

Updated: A. Izenstark, 11/09.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip