Need Help?
General information
In this section of the guide you will find information on
how to search for recent regulations that are available online and how to
search for older regulations that are no longer in print. You will find more information on the locating the sources listed below on the "Sources for Regulations" tab in this Guide.
Searching for a current regulation
Online
- Search the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) available through Govinfo or ProQuest Congressional. Searches may be conducted by keyword or citation.
- To see if any regulations have been updated since the latest revision of the CFR, search the Federal Register, available through Govinfo or ProQuest Congressional. Searches may be conducted by keyword or by CFR or Federal Register citation.
- A great supplementary online source for regulations and related materials can be found at Regulations.gov. This source, while not recognized by all legal entities, does provide good information regarding regulations and their related background material, comments, and supporting documents.
- Consult the index volume of the Code of Federal Regulations or the Index to the Code of Federal Regulations to identify the relevant title and part.
- Use the contents section at the beginning of each part to identify the relevant section.
- Check the Cumulative List of CFR Sections Affected to see if the specific section has been modified or changed.
- Check the “List of CFR Parts Affected” in issues of the Federal Register since the last Cumulative List of CFR Sections Affected
- Govinfo
This link opens in a new window
The official system of record for online government providing electronic access to a wide variety of information produced by the federal government. All sources are authenticated as official and original copies. Full text sources include: Congressional Bills, Congressional Directory, Congressional Record, Congressional Hearings & Reports, U.S. Code, Public Laws, the CFR, the Federal Register, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, the Constitution, Supreme Court Decisions, and more.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracting of congressional publications and the full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, prints, bills, and the Congressional Record. Also includes the text of United States laws and regulations, biographical and voting information of members of congress, and more. Updated daily.
- Regulations.gov
- This link opens in a new window
Search for Proposed Rules and Rules, as well as Notices from the Federal Register. Documents such as Public Comments and Supporting and Related Materials are often associated with these regulations, and can also be found on this site.
Searching for an older regulation no longer in print
- Search the Federal Register online to see if the regulation was issued during the years covered in FDsys (currently 1994-) or ProQuest Congressional.
- Search the hard copy of the Federal Register by consulting the annual index published at the end of each volume or by consulting the CIS Federal Register Index
- Govinfo
- This link opens in a new window
The official system of record for online government providing electronic access to a wide variety of information produced by the federal government. All sources are authenticated as official and original copies. Full text sources include: Congressional Bills, Congressional Directory, Congressional Record, Congressional Hearings & Reports, U.S. Code, Public Laws, the CFR, the Federal Register, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, the Constitution, Supreme Court Decisions, and more.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracting of congressional publications and the full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, prints, bills, and the Congressional Record. Also includes the text of United States laws and regulations, biographical and voting information of members of congress, and more. Updated daily.
- CIS Federal Register IndexGovt Pub Index Area KF49.C6ss: 1984-1998
Weekly, monthly, and semiannual cumulation. Published privately, an easier-to-use index of the Federal Register than the official version. Indexes by subject, agency name, and CFR section number.