Offered by the NEC Laboratories America and Penn State’s School of Information Sciences and Technology, this database is a free, full-text index of computer science research articles. Allows for citation searching and linking. Updated daily.
Indexing and abstracts of professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1970-. Updated weekly. Links to articles open in a pop-up window, so you will need to deactivate the pop-up blocker on your browser to connect to full text.
Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), this database indexes and provides abstracts for technical reports in energy-related disciplines. Includes links to full text when available. 1948-.
A collection of of more than 750,000 citations and abstracts from 3,000+ publishers, including works published by ACM and other publishers. Coverage includes books, journal articles, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and technical support. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the Guide.
Full-text access to the latest five years of IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions, including IEEE Spectrum Magazine. (Note that conference proceedings are not included in URI’s subscription.) Browse tables of contents or search for articles by author or keyword.
Essential Science Indicators can determine the influential individuals, institutions, papers, publications, and countries in a field of study. This unique and comprehensive compilation of science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Thomson Scientific databases.
Inspec provides abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical literature. Inspec provides coverage from over 3,400 journals, 2,000 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports in the subject areas of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, and production, mechanical engineering, and more. This database is produced by IEEE. 1969-.
Index and digitized database of reports produced by the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA), NASA’s predecessor. 1917-1958. Continues with citations and documents created or sponsored by NASA starting in 1958 and continuing to the present and also includes the NIX Collection, citations and links to the images, photos, movies, and videos from the discontinued NASA Image eXchange (NIX).
Indexes 1,600 key chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering journals and selectively indexes 8,000 more, plus conference proceedings, patents, technical reports, and other materials. Also contains information on chemical substances and reactions, regulations, and chemical suppliers. 1907-. Updated daily. Access restricted to URI students, faculty, and staff; for instructions on setting up an account, click more link.
To use this index: you must be a URI student, staff, or faculty member with a valid email address ending in "uri.edu." You will need to go to the CAS registration site from a URI computer and set up an account with CAS. The password selection process requires close attention to the password criteria and may take several tries. Successful registration results in an email with a link which you must click to finish registration.
ScienceDirect is a collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users from 1995 to the present. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
Contains citations and abstracts for over 400 periodical titles and for thousands of titles drawn from sources such as books, conferences, theses, technical reports, and trade literature on topics relating to the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing. Coverage is international in scope and includes related subjects such as the management of textile production and the apparel, home furnishings, flooring, and polymer industries.
Offered by the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics, this site provides citations and abstracts for transportation research covered in books, journal articles, technical reports. Other media, federal, state, local, and association publications and conference proceedings are also covered. The database extends from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage before 1960.
Web access to ISI citation databases (Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research. Updated weekly.