This is the "Home" page of the "Engineering Problem Solving" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering Problem Solving  

This is a guide to reference books useful for engineering problem solving, including engineering fundamentals, data manipulation, mathematics, and calculations.
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2011 URL: http://uri.libguides.com/enginprobs Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Services

Five Ways to Get Research Help

Spring Semester 2012


Visit us
@The Reference Desk

Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Call Us
(During Reference Hours)

(401) 874-2653


IM Us
(During Reference Hours)

URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Yahoo!


Text Us
(During Reference Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Reference Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

 

Welcome

This is a guide to reference books useful for engineering problem solving, including engineering fundamentals, data manipulation, mathematics, and calculations. Most of these materials will be found in the Reference collection, but older editions may be available for borrowing. As the range of potential useful sources is so great, the guide will begin with an overview of basic techniques and give a few field-specific examples. For information sources related to chemical engineering, see Chemical Processing Plants subject guide.

 

Search Techniques

It is impossible to list all the titles which may be of use for a particular project.  Engineers love handbooks, and the HELIN Catalog allows Boolean Searching in the Keywords search, so a search for handbook and your topic will often get results. (Ignore the quotation marks when typing, and be sure to limit the search to University of Rhode Island (All Campuses).) If you find too many, you may wish to focus your topic, while no or few results should lead you to broaden it.

So, if you were looking for material on lubricant viscosity, you might do a search for handbook and tribology. You will find six items, all of which may be good. A look at the titles might give you the idea to try the more specific search handbook and lubrication, or, if you received no hits, you might try the broader handbook and mechanical engineering. Terms other than handbook (e.g. encyclopedia, manual, guide, etc.) may also be useful.

Peter Larsen

Profile Image
Peter Larsen
Contact Info
University Libraries
University of Rhode Island
15 Lippitt Rd.
Kingston, RI 02881

(401) 874-4637
Send Email
 

Created & Revised by

J. Williamson, 07/01; rev. P. Larsen, 06/06, H. Williamson 4/10.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip