This is the "Home" page of the "English Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Literature  

Guide to selected resources in English Literature available at URI.
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2011 URL: http://uri.libguides.com/englit Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Services

Five Ways to Get Research Help

Spring Semester 2012


Visit us
@The Reference Desk

Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Call Us
(During Reference Hours)

(401) 874-2653


IM Us
(During Reference Hours)

URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Yahoo!


Text Us
(During Reference Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Reference Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

 

Introduction

This is a guide to selected sources of information related to English literature available at URI. Use the Tabs above to navigate through this guide.

To find additional information, conduct a Subject search in the HELIN Catalog using subject headings such as ENGLISH LITERATURE. Subheadings such as 19th CENTURY or DICTIONARIES will narrow the search. (Example: English Literature 19th Century History and Criticism.) A Subject search on individual authors will bring up material on that author. (Example: Shakespeare, William.)

 

Getting Started

American Literary Scholarship
Call Number: Ref PS3 A47
(Annual 1963-1996)
Continued Online
1998-2007 http://0-muse.jhu.edu.helin.uri.edu/journals/american_literary_scholarship/
2000-present http://0-als.dukejournals.org.helin.uri.edu/archive/

Annual review of literary criticism presented in scholarly essays. Organized by major authors and genres/time periods. Includes author and subject indexes. Additional years available online; see title entry in HELIN catalog.

The Humanities: A Selective Guide to Information Sources. - Blazek, Ron and Elizabeth Aversa
Call Number: Z6265 B53 1994
Lists reference works in the humanities including American literature.

Literary research guide: an annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies - Harner, James L
Call Number: Ref. Z2011 H34 2002
“Selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literature of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.” Contains descriptions of other reference works.

Handbook of Literary Research - Miller, R. H.
Call Number: Ref. PR56 M54 1995
Explores strategies and resources to be used in researching English and American literature.

 
 

General Works

Cyclopedia of literary characters
Call Number: Ref. PN44 M3 1998
Descriptions of over twenty thousand characters from 3,300 novels, plays, epics and other classic literature. Arranged alphabetically by title of the work. Includes author, title and character indexes.
5 vols.

Cyclopedia of world authors - Magill, Frank N. ed.
Call Number: Ref. PN451 M36 1997
Biographical sketches of over 2,000 authors worldwide from earliest times to the present. Each entry includes a list of the author's works and a bibliography of sources for further study.
5 vols.

Encyclopedia of world literature in the 20th century - Serafin, Steven R., ed.
Call Number: Ref. PN771 E5 1999
This 4-volume encyclopedia provides international coverage including articles on national literatures, and biographical/critical articles. Includes bibliographies for authors and an index to the entire set.

World authors, 1900-1950 - Seymour-Smith, Martin and Andrew C. Kimmens, eds.
Call Number: Ref PN451 .W674 1996
Biographical sketches of writers who came into prominence in the first half of the 20th century. Entries include lists of works by and about each author.
4 vols.

 

Profile

Profile Image
Jim Kinnie
Contact Info
University Libraries
401 874-9240
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Music, English, Writing
 

Created & revised by

J. Kinnie, 10/09, 8/10

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip