Reference Services
Five Ways to Get Research Help
Spring Semester 2012
Visit us
@The Reference Desk
| Mon-Thu | 9:00 am - 8:00 pm |
| Fri | 9:00 am - 5:00 pm |
| Sat | 10:00 am - 5:00 pm |
| Sun | 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm |
Call Us
(During Reference Hours)
(401) 874-2653
IM Us
(During Reference Hours)
URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Yahoo!
Text Us
(During Reference Hours)
265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.
Email Us
(After Reference Hours)
urilibrarian@gmail.com
(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)
Getting Started -- Online
- The Council on FoundationsA nonprofit membership association of grantmaking foundations and corporations. Site provides searchable foundation locator, links to member Web sites, grantseeking information and resources for and about nonprofit organizations.
- The Foundation Center.The "gateway to philanthropy on the World Wide Web." Includes online resources and training, philanthropy news, analysis and trends, links to grantmakers' Web sites, online librarian to answer e-mailed questions, and information on Foundation Center publications, libraries and cooperating collections. Providence Public Library (http://www.provlib.org/accessinfo/foundation/foundation.htm) houses a cooperating collection.
- A Proposal Writing Short CourseA step-by-step, detailed guide to structuring a grant proposal from the Foundation Center. Includes recommendations for additional reading.
- TGCI – The Grantsmanship Center.TGCI offers grantsmanship training and low-cost publications. Provides links to federal, state, community and international funding sources and includes links to current Federal Register grant announcements.
- URI Research Office.Offers information about Research Office services to the URI community including proposal writing, budget preparation, compliance, indirect cost rates, etc..
Getting Started -- In Print
The Five Strategies for Fundraising Success: A Mission-based Guide to Achieving your Goals - Mal Warwick
Call Number: URI Reference HV41.2 W355 2000
ISBN: 0787949949
Details a comprehensive method for analyzing, planning and evaluating an organization's fundraising strategy based on the GIVES System - Growth, Involvement, Visibility, Efficiency and Stability.
Grant Application Writer's Handbook - Reif-Lehrer, Liane
Call Number: Ref R853 P75 R439 2005
ISBN: 0763716421
The "How To" Grants Manual - David G. Bauer
Call Number: URI Reference HG177 B38 2009
ISBN: 1607095548
Explores techniques for obtaining public and private grants.
Contact Information |
![]() Contact Info Kingston: (401) 874-2653 Providence: (401) 277-5130 Narragansett: (401) 874-6161 Send Email |
Created and Revised by
J. Kinnie 7/00; rev. 3/01, 8/04, J Kinnie & J Austin, 7/10



Loading...
