Skip to main content
Reference & Research Help
Five Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)
Government, Politics, and Law - Articles & Databases
Please note: These databases require that you log in with your URI credentials.
This page provides details on logging in to URI-subscribed databases, journals, and more.
American State Papers, 1789-1838 (Archive of Americana)
Search or browse full text and images of U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.
Archive of Americana
This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.
Provides access to reports researched and written by journalists, on a variety of current topics. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. 1991-. Updated weekly.
DOE Information Bridge
Indexes Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored scientific and technical reports. Replaces the print publication Energy Research Abstracts. 1995-. Updated weekly.
Environment Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts for more than 950 journals published in the U.S. and abroad. The database also covers conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters. 1975-. Updated bi-weekly.
Europa World: The Europa World Year Book Online
Presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations. Features statistical data and directories.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Collection of full text documents on terrorism, counterterrorism, security and related issues. Sources include government policy reports, think tank publications, Congressional legislation, and other primary sources. Library use only and access is limited to members of the University community.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of datasets in social sciences and related areas. Data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata, may be downloaded. While accessible from anywhere, users must initially create an account while on campus, and must access the database from on-campus at least once every six months.
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost)
Cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles that offer news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
NASA Technical Report Service
Index and digitized database of reports produced by the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA), NASA’s predecessor. 1917-1958. Continues with citations and documents created or sponsored by NASA starting in 1958 and continuing to the present and also includes the NIX Collection, citations and links to the images, photos, movies, and videos from the discontinued NASA Image eXchange (NIX).
National Climatic Data Center (NCDS)
Access to monthly temperature, pressure, precipitation, and other measurements for approximately 2,000 surface data collection stations worldwide; storm data by state; and local climatic data for several hundred U.S. cities. On campus use only.
National Environmental Publications Information System (NEPIS)
Search, view, and print the full text of over 10,000 technical and popular publications produced by the Environmental Protection Agency. 1990-. Updated monthly.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
A title keyword index to over 750,000 NTIS reports, datafiles, CD-ROMs, and audiovisual materials. 1990-.
NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server
Database of NASA-produced literature. Also indexes selected aerospace-related reports from other government agencies. Selected historical reports back to 1958 are included.
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexing of journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. 1914-. Updated monthly.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
Provides citations and abstracting of congressional publications and the full text of congressional reports, documents, prints, bills, and the Congressional Record. Also includes the text of United States laws and regulations, biographical and voting information of members of congress, and more. Updated daily.
Science Inventory (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Searchable, EPA agency-wide database of more than 4,000 scientific and technical work products such as research, technical assistance and assessments, along with more than 750 peer-reviewed products. Database records provide such information as project descriptions (abstracts), contacts for additional information, and electronic links to final reports and related research. Users can conduct keyword searches of search within nine cross-cutting science topics.
Scout (Sunlight Foundation)
Legislation tracker for Congress and all fifty states. Results list bill names and numbers, summaries with links to full text, and legislative status. Can search by phrase, bill name, or number. Status alerts may also be created. Updated daily.
Search by name for an historical or current ship and discover which books, magazines, and online resources mention the vessel you are researching. Contains over 3 million entries.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. 1970-.
TRIS Online (Transportation Research Information Service)
Offered by the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics, this site provides citations and abstracts for transportation research covered in books, journal articles, technical reports. Other media, federal, state, local, and association publications and conference proceedings are also covered. The database extends from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage before 1960.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1994 (Archive of Americana)
Provides primary source material on all aspects of American history. Includes the full text and images from the United States Congressional Serial Set. Search or browse the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes.
Subsequent years are available through FDSys Federal Digital System http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/search/home.action
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Databases
Full text database of all U.S. patents issued since 1790.
UNdata is the United Nations Data Access System, providing access to current, relevant and reliable statistics for free. Includes official statistics produced by countries, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism. Produced by United Nations Statistics and Population Divisions as well as other United Nations agencies.
USA Trade Online
Access to U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities world wide. Two simultaneous users only. Password required — please ask at Info & Research Help Desk for access. 1992-.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Web access to ISI citation databases (Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research. Updated weekly.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.