Need Help?
Introduction
This guide will help you begin your research. It includes the best places to search for articles and which databases are best for this, as well as provide some in-print resources we have available here at Carothers Library. Finally, the "Finding Full Text" page provides some guidance on navigating to full-text articles-an essential for your research!
Best Bets
Below are links to research databases where you will be able to find articles from scholarly and popular sources. For more information on searching databases, please visit our Finding Articles guide.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- CINAHL (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials in nursing and allied health.
- What dates are covered? 1981-. Updated monthly.
- Human Kinetics Library (Bloomsbury) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Human Kinetics Library features ebooks and videos from Human Kinetics, an educational publisher for fitness, exercise, coaching, and sport.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides citations to articles on biomedicine and life sciences topics including bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, marine biology, and preclinical sciences.
- What dates are covered? 1809 - Present.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and selected abstracting of journals, reports, conference proceedings, and trade and popular magazines in the field of physical education, physical fitness, health, and sports medicine. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1970 - Present.
- PubMed (linked to URI holdings) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. A service of the National Library of Medicine. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1947 - Present.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
Evaluating Sources
Scholarly and Popular Sources
Created by Taylor St. Pierre, July 2018
Updated by Amanda Izenstark, July 2021