Banner Image

Library of Congress Classification System: Library of Congress Classification System

Reference & Research Help

Five Ways to Get Research Help


Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk


Call Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

(401) 874-2653


Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

Click Here to Start


Text Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Regular Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

Library of Congress Classification System

Books in this library are shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification System, which separates all knowledge into 20 classes. Each class corresponds to a letter of the alphabet with subclasses identified by combinations of letters and subtopics by numerical notations. Listed below are the 20 classes (with subclasses) and their corresponding letters, the first letters in LC Call Numbers. For more information on reading LC Call Numbers please see the user guide, "Understanding Library of Congress Call Numbers" on this site.

Look Up by Classification Letter
A | B | C | D | E-F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | Z

Look Up by Class
General Works | Philosophy Psychology Religion | Auxiliary Sciences of History | History: General and Old World | History: Western Hemisphere | Geography Anthropology Recreation | Social Sciences | Political science | Law | Education | Music | Fine Arts | Language and Literature | Science | Medicine | Agriculture | Technology | Military Science | Naval Science | Bibliography - Library Science


A General Works     top

AC Collections
AE Encyclopedias
AG Dictionaries
AI Indexes
AM Museums
AN Newspapers
AP Periodicals
AS Academies and societies
AY Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories
AZ History of scholarship

B Philosophy Psychology Religion      top

B Philosophy (General)
BC Logic
BD Speculative philosophy
BF Psychology. Parapsychology. Occultism
BH Aesthetics
BJ Ethics. Social usages. Etiquette
BL Religions. Mythology
BM Judaism
BP Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc.
BQ Buddhism
BR Christianity
BS Bible
BT Christianity: Doctrinal theology
BV Christianity: Practical theology
BX Christian denominations

C Auxiliary Sciences of History      top

C General
CB History of Civilization
CC Archaeology
CD Diplomatics. Archives. Seals
CE Technical chronology. Calendar
CJ Numismatics
CN Inscriptions. Epigraphy
CR Heraldry
CS Genealogy
CT Biography

D History: General and Old World     top

D General
DA Great Britain
DB Austria. Hungary. Czechoslovakia
DC France
DD Germany
DE Mediterranean region - Classical
DF Greece
DG Italy
DH Low Countries: Belgium. Luxemburg
DJ Netherlands (Holland)
DJK Eastern Europe
DK Soviet Union. Poland
DL Northern Europe. Scandinavia
DP Spain. Portugal
DQ Switzerland
DR Balkan Peninsula. Turkey
DS Asia
DT Africa
DU Oceania. Australia. New Zealand
DX Gypsies

E-F History: Western Hemisphere     top

E America
F U. S. local history. Canada. Latin America

G Geography. Anthropology. Recreation     top

G General. Atlases. Maps
GA Mathematical geography. Cartography
GB Physical geography
GC Oceanography
GF Human ecology. Anthropogeography
GN Anthropology
GR Folklore
GT Manners and customs
GV Recreation. Sports. Games

H Social Sciences     top

H General
HA Statistics
HB Economics
HC Economic History
HD Land. Agriculture. Industry. Labor
HE Transportation and communications
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public finance
HM Sociology
HN Social History
HQ Family. Marriage. Women
HS Societies. Clubs
HT Communities. Classes. Races
HV Social pathology. Social service. Criminology
HX Socialism. Communism

J Political Science     top

J General legislative and executive papers
JA Political science - General
JC Political theory. The state
JF Constitutional history - General
JK Constitutional history - United States
JL Constitutional history - Canada. Latin America
JN Constitutional history - Europe
JQ Constitutional history - Asia. Africa. Australia. Oceania
JS Local government
JV Colonies and colonization
JX International law. International relations

K Law     top

K General
KD United Kingdom and Ireland
KDZ America. North America. OAS
KE Canada
KF United States
KG-KH Latin America
KJ-KK Europe

L Education     top

L General
LA History of education
LB Theory and practice of education
LC Special aspects of education
LD Individual institutions - United States
LE Individual institutions - Other Americas
LF Individual institutions - Europe
LG Individual institutions - Asia. Africa. Oceania
LH College publications
LJ Student fraternities and sororities
LT Textbooks

M Music     top

M General
ML Literature of music
MT Music instruction

N Fine Arts     top

N Visual arts (General)
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts. Applied arts
NX Arts in general

P Language and Literature     top

P Philology and linguistics
PA Classical languages and literature
PB Celtic languages
PC Romance languages
PD Germanic languages. Scandinavian languages
PE English language
PF West Germanic languages. Dutch. German
PG Slavic, Baltic, Armenian languages and literature
PH Finno-Ugrian languages and literature
PJ Oriental languages and literatures
PK Indo-Iranian languages and literatures
PL East Asian languages and literatures
PM American Indian languages. Artificial languages
PN Literature. General literary history and collections. Performing arts.
PQ Romance literatures
PR English literature
PS American literature
PT Germanic literatures
PZ Juvenile belle lettres

Q Science     top

Q General
QA Mathematics
QB Astronomy
QC Physics
QD Chemistry
QE Geology
QH Natural History. Biology
QK Botany
QL Zoology
QM Human anatomy
QP Physiology
QR Microbiology

R Medicine     top

R General
RA Public aspects of medicine
RB Pathology
RC Internal medicine
RD Surgery
RE Ophthalmology
RF Otorhinolaryngology
RG Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ Pediatrics
RK Dentistry
RL Dermatology
RM Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RS Pharmacy. Materia medica
RT Nursing
RV Botanic, Thomsonian, eclectic medicine
RX Homeopathy
RZ Other systems of medicine

S Agriculture     top

S General
SB Plant culture
SD Forestry
SF Animal culture
SH Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
SK Hunting

T Technology     top

T General
TA Engineering - General and civil
TC Hydraulic engineering
TD Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
TE Highway engineering
TF Railroad engineering
TG Bridge construction
TH Building construction
TJ Mechanical engineering and machinery
TK Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering
TL Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
TN Mining engineering
TP Chemical technology
TR Photography
TS Manufactures
TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts
TX Home economics

U Military Science     top

U General
UA Armies
UB Military administration
UC Maintenance and transportation
UD Infantry
UE Cavalry. Armored cavalry
UF Artillery
UG Military engineering. Air forces. Air warfare
UH Other services

V Naval Science      top

V General
VA Navies
VC Naval maintenance
VD Naval seamen
VE Marines
VF Naval ordinance
VG Minor services of navies
VK Navigation. Merchant marine
VM Naval architecture. Marine engineering

Z Bibliography: Library Science     top

Z Books. Book industries. Library science. Bibliography

For assistance
If you need further assistance, please stop by the Info & Research Help Desk, use our chat widget for live online help, or call (401) 874-2653.

Need help?
Created by

J. Kinnie 12/00

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.