Reference Services
Four Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us
@The Reference Desk
| Mon-Thu | 9:00 am - 8:00 pm |
| Fri | 9:00 am - 5:00 pm |
| Sat | 10:00 am - 5:00 pm |
| Sun | 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm |
Call Us
(During Reference Hours)
(401) 874-2653
IM Us
(During Reference Hours)
URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Yahoo!
Text Us
(During Reference Hours)
265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.
Email Us
(After Reference Hours)
urilibrarian@gmail.com
(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)
Introduction
This is a guide to selected sources of information related to Music resources available at URI. See the General box below or use the Tabs above to navigate through this guide.
There are other materials such as vinyl and CD recordings, tapes, study scores, solo and ensemble music, and music dictionaries in the Music Resource Room in the Fine Arts Center. Call (401) 874-5584 for more information. The HELIN catalog will identify the location of all music-related materials held by URI.
General
- HELIN Catalog
In the HELIN Catalog you will find books, periodicals, microfilm, CD and video recordings related to music in the library. Use the AUTHOR search by entering last name first (ex. Kern, Jerome or Verdi, Giuseppe), a SUBJECT search (ex. Music – 20th Century – History and Criticism), a TITLE search (ex. Sonata in C Minor for Viola and Piano), or a WORD search (ex. piano and scores; jazz and discography). - Handbook of music terms - Parks Grant
Call Number: ML108 G844 H3
Although designed for “persons who make only a modest claim to musical knowledge,” this handbook provides detailed and clear definitions and examples. - Reader’s Guide to Music: History, Theory, Criticism
Call Number: Ref. ML160 .R42 1999
Reference guide to literature on music. Entries include short essays and bibliographies.
Electronic Resource
- Oxford Music Online Home of Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music. Comprehensive database of music information in all genres and time periods.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
This list includes a selection of dictionaries and encyclopedias in music. There are many other subject-specific titles which can be found by searching the HELIN Catalog. For example, type DICTIONARY and OPERA, ENCYCLOPEDIA and JAZZ, etc.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Call Number: Ref. ML100 .G16 1998
10 vols.
Arranged geographically. Articles are written by ethnomusicology specialists in each area and include bibliographic references. Each volume includes a glossary and index. - Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre - Kurt Ganzl
Call Number: Ref. ML102 M88 G3 2001 - Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music - W. K. McNeil
Call Number: Ref. ML102 G6 E63 2005 - Baker's Dictionary of Opera - Laura Kuhn
Call Number: Ref. ML102 O6 B26 2000
Profile |
Jim KinnieDescription
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait