Need Help?
Welcome!
This is a collection of mobile apps available to assist you with library and online research. While the URI Libraries do not provide support for these tools, please feel free to contact Amanda Izenstark at amanda@uri.edu if you have any questions or additions to this list.
Featured App
EBSCOhost App for iPhone/iPod and Android
The EBSCOhost app allows you to search all of URI's subscribed EBSCO databases from your mobile device. To install the app:
- Go to any EBSCO database from any of the Libraries' pages.
- Scroll to the bottom of the EBSCOhost search screen, and click on the link for the iPhone and Android Applications.
- Enter your email address in the form provided.
- Check your email on your mobile device. The email from EBSCO will contain a link to download the app and the authentication key.
- Download the app, then return to the email and use the authentication key to activate your access to URI's databases.
Please keep in mind that because activation will last only 9 months, you will need to re-activate once the initial activation period has ended.
General-Purpose Apps
Looking for an app to assist you with your work? These apps may prove helpful, regardless of your preferred operating system.
Free Apps:
- Dropbox
This link opens in a new window
Dropbox can backup your computer, give you access to your documents on your mobile device, and allow you to share files. Works on Mac, Windows, and Linux computers, as well as iPhone/iPod, iPad, Android, and Blackberry devices. Free plans offer 2 GB of storage. - Evernote
- This link opens in a new window
Evernote syncs your notes between all of your devices via Wi-Fi or mobile networks, allowing you to (for example) take notes in class on your tablet and read them later on your laptop. Works on Mac and Windows computers, as well as within your browser wherever you are. Apps available for iPhone/iPod, iPad, Android phones and tablets, Windows phones, Blackberries, and WebOS devices. Free accounts available; subscriptions provide greater capacity and functionality. - Google Drive
- This link opens in a new window
Allows users access to Google Drive from their mobile device. Available for Android and iOS. Google Drive can be used to save PDFs and other documents to the cloud for later use. Google Drive for Android also allows users to scan documents with their phone camera and search the text of that document within the app. All URI students have free access to Google Drive through their URI email address. - Kindle Apps
- This link opens in a new window
With Kindle apps, you can read your books on all of your devices - computers, phones, and tablets. Works on Mac and Windows computers, iPhones/iPods, iPads, Android phones and tablets, and Windows phones. The Kindle Apps are free, and provide access to a number of free books. Other books must be purchased. - Xodo PDF Reader & Editor (Android)
- This link opens in a new window
Free app that allows you to read, edit, and annotate PDFs.
Paid Apps:
- ezPDF Reader (Android)
- This link opens in a new window
For Android devices, this app is for viewing and annotating PDFs, and for filling out PDF forms. - PDF Expert (iOS)
- This link opens in a new window
This iPhone/iPod and iPad app allows you to edit and annotate PDFs.
Android Apps
Working on an Android device? These apps may prove helpful for your research.
General and Reference:
- Khan Academy
- This link opens in a new window
A mobile app for free online lessons covering a variety of topics, including math, science, computer programming, history, and more. - Mendeley
- This link opens in a new window
Free mobile app for citation management. Also allows for saving and reading articles as PDFs within the app. - Merriam-Webster Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
A free app that provides users with a mobile Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary, as well as other features. Premium/paid version also available. - OverDrive
This link opens in a new window
Electronic book delivery platform for Ocean State Libraries consortium. Usable by anyone with a Rhode Island library card. - RefWorks Mobile
This link opens in a new window
Mobile interface that allows you to search, view, and manage your personal database, view attachments, and add new references. If you are not on campus or not connected to URI's Wi-Fi network, you will need to enter the Group Code before you log in.
Arts and Humanities:
- IMDB.com (Internet Movie Database)
- This link opens in a new window
Free mobile app allows you to search for information about movies and television shows including director, cast lists, year released, and much more! Available on multiple platforms. - Kanopy Streaming Video
- This link opens in a new window
Free app to stream videos available through Kanopy on your mobile device. Also available for Roku, Chromecast, Amazon tablets, and Apple TV. - Mango Languages
- This link opens in a new window
Free mobile app for Mango Languages, which is available to users with an Ocean State Library card. Offers self-directed language instruction in 22 languages. Instruction focuses on everyday conversational skills.
Business:
- Hoover's Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
Mobile-friendly access to Hoover's Online, which provides detailed company and industry profiles. - O'Reilly
- This link opens in a new window
Free app that gives users access to a large number of business and technology books, videos, training courses, audiobooks, and more. Requires account registration. Premium/paid version also available.
Health Sciences:
- MedlinePlus Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative consumer health information from MedlinePlus.gov in a mobile-optimized Web site that includes summaries for over 800 diseases, conditions and wellness topics as well as the latest health news, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, and information on prescription and over-the-counter medications. Accessible via the web browser of any mobile device. - mobilePDRFree mobile app for Prescribers' Digital Reference. Provides information on prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
- PubMed Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a simplified, mobile-friendly Web interface to access PubMed. PubMed contains millions of article citations from thousands of biomedical journals. Many citations include abstracts.
Physical and Mathematical Sciences:
- AMS Electronic Publications
- This link opens in a new window
Allows users to access the University's AMS subscriptions while off network.
iOS Apps
Working on a device that runs iOS? Be sure to check out these apps before getting started on your research.
General and Reference:
- CamScanner
- This link opens in a new window
Free mobile app that allows Apple users to scan documents using their device's camera. PDFs created are editable and searchable. Paid premium version also available. - Khan Academy
- This link opens in a new window
A mobile app for free online lessons covering a variety of topics including math, science, computer programming, history and more. - Mendeley
- This link opens in a new window
Free mobile app for citation management as well as saving and reading articles as PDFs within the app. - Merriam-Webster Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
Free mobile app provides users with access to the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary anywhere among other features. Premium/paid version also available. Also available is the free Merriam-Webster Dictionary for iPad as well as a premium version. - OverDrive
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic book delivery platform for Ocean State Libraries consortium. Usable by anyone with a Rhode Island library card. - RefWorks Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
Mobile interface that allows you to search, view, and manage your personal database, view attachments, and add new references. If you are not on campus or not connected to URI's Wi-Fi network, you will need to enter the Group Code before you log in.
Arts and Humanities:
- IMDB.com (Internet Movie Database)
- This link opens in a new window
Free mobile app allows you to search for information about movies and television shows including director, cast lists, year released, and much more! Available on multiple platforms. - Kanopy Streaming Video
- This link opens in a new window
Free app to stream videos available through Kanopy on your mobile device. Also available for Roku, Chromecast, Amazon tablets, and Apple TV. - Mango Languages
- This link opens in a new window
Free mobile app for Mango Languages, which is available to users with an Ocean State Library card. Offers self-directed language instruction in 22 languages. Instruction focuses on everyday conversational skills.
Business:
- Hoover's Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
Mobile-friendly access to Hoover's Online, which provides detailed company and industry profiles. - O'Reilly
- This link opens in a new window
Free app that gives users access to a large number of business and technology books, videos, training courses, audiobooks, and more. Requires account registration. Premium/paid version also available.
Government, Politics and Law:
- Congressional Record (iPad)
- This link opens in a new window
"The Congressional Record delivered through the app is a PDF document that can be shared via email and be able to be browsed by date and searchable by keyword within an individual document or section; documents can also be saved to the iPad. Content includes Congressional Record issues dating from January 4, 1995 through the present."
Health Sciences:
- The Cochrane Library
- This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Cochrane Library, this app features the Cochrane Systematic Reviews. App content is free and includes podcasts, reviews, tables, images and more related to evidence-based resources. Users can read and access content offline. - MedlinePlus Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative consumer health information from MedlinePlus.gov in a mobile-optimized Web site that includes summaries for over 800 diseases, conditions and wellness topics as well as the latest health news, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, and information on prescription and over-the-counter medications. Accessible via the web browser of any mobile device. - mobilePDR
- This link opens in a new window
Free mobile app for Prescribers' Digital Reference. Provides information on prescription and over-the-counter drugs. - PubMed Mobile
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a simplified, mobile-friendly Web interface to access PubMed. PubMed contains millions of article citations from thousands of biomedical journals. Many citations include abstracts.
Physical and Mathematical Sciences:
- AMS Electronic Publications
- This link opens in a new window
Allows users to access the University's AMS subscriptions while off network.
Subject Guide
Created and Modified by
Created by Amanda Izenstark.
Modified by Katie Leahy, 9/13; Tayla Cardillo, 7/18; David Bernardo, 4/20.