Skip to main content
Social Sciences - Articles & Databases
Please note: These databases require that you log in with your URI credentials.
This page provides details on logging in to URI-subscribed databases, journals, and more.
Full text access to current and back issues of fifteen of the American Anthropological Association's periodicals. Coverage varies by publication, but generally covers the 1990s to the present.
ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. Dates of coverage are 1950 to current, with some coverage back to 1911. Updated monthly.
Communication Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and abstracts of publications related to communications, broadcasting, and public opinions on a world-wide scale. Covers articles, reports, papers, and books. 1977-. Updated bimonthly.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Covers international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. It contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice. 1968-. Updated quarterly.
Online access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition (2013). Used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
EconLit, produced by the American Economic Association, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature, covering all fields of economics. Indexes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews. The database contains more than 1.2 million records from 1886-present.
Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and governmental, NGO, and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCOhost)
Indexing of nearly 1,200 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, including magazines and scholarly journals. 1907-1984.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of datasets in social sciences and related areas. Data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata, may be downloaded. While accessible from anywhere, users must initially create an account while on campus, and must access the database from on-campus at least once every six months.
Journalism and Mass Communication Abstracts (AEJMC)
Journalism & Mass Communications Abstracts, formerly Journalism Abstracts, includes abstracts of dissertations and theses accepted for graduate degrees. The abstracts were prepared by the student authors and represent research theses. The abstract database may be searched by author's name, institution, year, and subject for theses, dissertations or both.
JSTOR is an online archive of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. Articles may be searched by keyword or browsed by journal. JSTOR provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Note that JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR’s archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available.
Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective (EBSCOhost)
Provides citations to articles, book reviews, books, and book chapters in library and information studies, as well as citations to library school theses. Also includes full text from 69 years of the Wilson Library Bulletin. 1905-1983.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost)
Provides a guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Contains information about test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Vol. 1 (1937)-.
The PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress) database provides current and retrospective citations and selected abstracting of literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and related psychological effects of traumatic events. 1871-. Updated monthly.
Citations and abstracts of journals, books, and other materials on demographics and population studies. 1986-2000.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. 1985-.
Citations and abstracts of journal articles and books in psychology, including applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. 1806-. Updated monthly.
ScienceDirect is a collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users from 1995 to the present. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Abstracts and indexes current research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Covers journals, including book reviews, plus dissertations. 1979-. Updated monthly.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Covers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. 1952-. Updated monthly.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Web access to ISI citation databases (Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research. Updated weekly.
Women’s Studies International (EBSCOhost)
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites, and grey literature. Coverage ranges from 1972 and earlier to the present.
Reference & Research Help
Five Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.