This comprehensive site, a product of Dun & Bradstreet, contains profiles of more than 14,000 companies in the US as well as articles, advice, and business tools on credit, careers, disaster planning, franchises, finance and accounting, taxation, green business, manufacturing, labor and employment, starting a business, and technology and law.
- Beige Book
Report by the Federal Reserve Board. Summarizes current economic conditions by Federal Reserve district. Eight times per year.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis
Official government source for statistics on GDP, balance of payments, imports and exports, U.S. investment abroad, foreign investment in the U.S., personal income, etc. Data available at the national, state, and local area levels. Also provides online access to the Survey of Current Business.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis Regional Accounts
Produced by the Bureau of Economic Analysis, provides local area economic data for states, counties, and metropolitan areas.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
Official government source for statistics on employment and unemployment, prices and living conditions, compensation and working conditions, productivity and technology, employment projections, and international labor.
- Census Bureau
Official government source for a broad range of social, demographic, business, and economic statistics. Historical data can be found under the "Publications" links on the Census homepage.
- Consumer Expenditure Survey
Summary statistics from the Consumer Expenditure Survey, which is conducted by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Reports broad categories of consumer expenditures by age, income, and Metropolitan Statistical Area. Data available from the mid-1980s to the present.
- CorpTech Database of 50,000 High-Tech Companies
Search for public and private companies in high-tech fields. Company capsules provide address, phone, web site, ownership, sales estimate, brief description of business, list of competitors, and company rankings. Allows searching by company name, ticker symbol, personal name, and products & services.
- County Business Patterns
Released every year, County Business Patterns provides the number of employees, annual payroll, total number of establishments, and the number of establishments by employment class size for every industry. Data are also available by industry or by state, county, Metropolitan Statistical Area, and zip code.
- Country Reports on Economic and Trade Practices
Analysis of countries’ trade practices, including economic indicators; exchange rate, structural, and debt management policies; export policies; workers’ rights; and statistics on U.S. investment in each country. Prepared by the U.S. State Department.
- Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulations
The World Bank's Doing Business Project provides information about business regulations and their enforcement in many countries and cities of the world. Search by country or topic, e.g. "Starting a Business" or "Paying Taxes." Information provided focuses on objective measures such as the number of procedures involved and the time and cost to complete them.
- Dow Jones Historical Averages
Provides, the high, low, and close for the Dow Jones Averages for any day from May 26, 1896 to the present. Also provides lists of component companies for each index.
- Economic Census
Conducted every 5 years (in years ending with 2 and 7), the Economic Census provides data on number of establishments, sales, annual payroll, and number of paid employees by industry. Data are available by industry or by state, county, metropolitan area, and zip code.
- Economic Report of the President
Provides integrated access to all current federal economic indicators. Includes links to the source agency of each indicator.
- Federal Reserve Board Statistical Releases
Provides current and historical statistics for interest rates, exchange rates, daily reserves, money supply, etc. If you can’t find what you want here, be sure to check FRED (see below) and the home pages of the regional Federal Reserve Banks.
- Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments, etc.
- globalEDGE: Your Source for Global Business Knowledge
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University and partially funded by the US Department of Education, globalEDGE provides a "human intelligence-based and expert-driven categorization of international business resources."
- New England Economic Indicators
Supplied by the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston, offers current economic indicators and time series data back to 1969 for each New England state.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
Detailed descriptions of over 200 occupations. Contains information on the nature of the job, qualification and training needed, earnings, and hiring trends.
- Standard Industrial Classification Search
Search the 1987 version of the SIC manual by keyword, access descriptive information for specific 4-digit SICs, and examine the SIC structure.
- Thomas Global Register
The Thomas Global Register is a directory of 700,000 manufacturers and distributors from 28 countries, classified by 11,000 products and services categories.
- World Bank Open Data
Free online access to a comprehensive data about development in countries around the globe. Data are searchable by country, by topic, or by indicator. The Data Catalog contains downloadable indicators and data sets from many of the World Bank's reports including the World Development Indicators, World Bank Policy Research Papers, and Migration and Remittances Factbook, among many others.