Skip to main content
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)
Offshore Wind Farms
This page provides some helpful research material regarding wind power and offshore wind farms. To find more materials on this topic in the Catalog and Article Databases search these subject headings:
- Wind Power
- Wind Farms
- Offshore Wind Powerplants
- Offshore Electric Powerplants
- Ocean Energy Sources
- Renewable Energy Sources
- Wind Engergy Conversion Systems
URI Libraries Search
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Onshore and Offshore Wind Energy
Call Number: TJ820 .L95 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-12
For the beginner starting research on the topic of wind energy. Inside you will find information on the history of wind energy, wind farms, turbine aerodynamics, mechanics, and electrics, economic aspects, environment impacts both positive and negative, the nature of wind and more. This text also contains a helpful index.
Wind Energy Handbook
Call Number: TJ820 .H35 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-13
From the book summary: "The authoritative reference on wind energy, now fully revised and updated to include offshore wind power. A decade on from its first release, the Wind Energy Handbook, Second Edition, reflects the advances in technology underpinning the continued expansion of the global wind power sector. Harnessing their collective industrial and academic expertise, the authors provide a comprehensive introduction to wind turbine design and wind farm planning for onshore and offshore wind-powered electricity generation."
Introduction to Wind Energy Systems
Call Number: TK1541 W34 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-24
An ideal starting point for those who are new to the subject, this introductory text offers a simplified presentation of wind energy systems.
Call Number: TJ820 .T495 2012
Publication Date: 2011-11-16
A guide for those interested in offshore wind farm installation. Within this book you will find a ready reference for "wind project managers, teaching how to deal with complications on-site, as well as for financers, who can utilize the text as an easy guide to asking the pivotal questions of petitioning wind project developers" (from book summary). There is also information regarding the cost of setting up a wind farm, the environmental impacts of on and offshore wind farms as well as real life examples of wind farm development from the author's own experiences.
Offshore Renewable Energy
Call Number: TJ163.2 .O39 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-11
Discusses the main technologies being used to develop wind, tidal and offshore wind power. There is also a focus on how the development of this renewable energy resource has failed to live up to its initial expectations and what the contributing factors to this failure entail.
Call Number: TJ820 .R54 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
Focuses on how wind is transformed into energy and examines the land-use decisions that affect the establishment of new wind farms. Windfall also examines the role of tax credits and other government subsidies for towns and cities where wind energy systems are developed.
Articles & Databases
Energy Citations Database
Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), this database indexes and provides abstracts for technical reports in energy-related disciplines. Includes links to full text when available. 1948-.
Citations, abstracts, and selected full text for over 600 scholarly and general interest periodicals, government documents, and reports focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. 1973-.
ScienceDirect is a collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users from 1995 to the present. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Web access to ISI citation databases (Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research. Updated weekly.
4C Global Offshore Wind Farms Database
This global wind farm database focuses on information on the status of wind farms all over the world with information on which are active, dormant, in proposal as well as locations for failed proposals, and projects that are in the concept/early planning stages. Users can search by location or just scan the map to view various wind farm locations.This site also contains links to other offshore wind power project websites.
American Wind Energy Association
From the website: The American Wind Energy Association (AWEA) is the national trade association for the U.S. wind industry – the country’s fastest growing energy industry. With thousands of wind industry members and wind policy advocates, AWEA promotes wind energy as a clean source of electricity for American consumers.
This site is for the Cape Wind project and focuses on the positive factors involving using wind power as a source of energy.
Focusing on the downside of the offshore wind farm movement, WindAction was formed to "counteract the misleading information promulgated by the wind energy industry and various environmental groups." WindAction says it "stands ready to assist communities threatened with industrial wind energy projects by providing residents, as well as government officials, the information to make informed decisions." There are many informative news articles on this website as well as a helpful database on wind energy and its impacts on the environment. This is the perfect site to explore the other side of this hot button issue.
, Articles & Databases
, Biological Sciences
, Business, Labor, and Economics
, Cell & Molecular Biology
, Criminology & Criminal Justice
, Environmental & Natural Resource Economics
, Film Studies
, Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science
, General & Reference
, General Library Information
, Hot Topics
, Internet Resources
, Labor Relations & Human Resources
, Landscape Architecture
, Life Sciences, Marine & Environment
, Natural Resources
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Plant Sciences
, Political Science
, Rhode Island and New England
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.