This is the "Internet Resources: Social Sciences" page of the "Social Sciences - Internet Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Sciences - Internet Resources   Tags: internet resources, psychology, social sciences, sociology  

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2013 URL: http://uri.libguides.com/wsoc Print Guide RSS Updates
Internet Resources: Social Sciences Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference & Research Help

Five Ways to Get Research Help

Spring Semester 2014


Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk

Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Call Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

(401) 874-2653


Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Click Here to Start


Text Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Regular Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

 

Introductory Information

Welcome!  This guide provides a list of useful Internet resources in the social sciences recommended by URI librarians.  The list is arranged alphabetically by title. 

Depending on your research topic, you may also want to browse the User Guides to locate other helpful resources like library databases, scholarly and popular articles, reference materials, books, or multimedia resources. 

If you need further assistance please don't hesitate to contact a librarian using any of the options listed in the Reference & Research Help box on the left side of this page. 

Good luck with your research!

Internet Resources: Social Sciences

  • AARP  Icon
    Includes resources on an array of topics, including aging, finances, travel, health, technology, and more.
  • Census Bureau  Icon
    Official government source for a broad range of social, demographic, business, and economic statistics. Historical data can be found under the "Publications" links on the Census homepage.
  • Facts & History  Icon
    A compilation of information about the Rhode Island. Includes links to information about demographics, the economy, employment, health, housing, poverty, education and crime.
  • FAIR: Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting  Icon
    Media watch group that offers well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship.
  • Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)  Icon
    Sample microdata from U.S. and international censuses. U.S. data is from the 1850-2000 Censuses of Population and the 2000-2010 American Community Surveys. All data is coded to provide continuity across samples and allows users maximum flexibility to customize variables.
  • KidsCount  Icon
    Profiles, graphs, maps, and rankings of the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children in the U.S., state by state.
  • Life Magazine Photo Archive (Google)  Icon
    Search-able archive of millions of images from the LIFE photo archive from the 1860s to the present.
  • National Archeological Database  Icon
    Online source of information on public archaeology and national legislation affecting cultural resource management. From the National Park Service.
  • PollingReport.com  Icon
    Timely cross-section of poll data on topics of national political, economic, and sociocultural interest from national polling firms such as Gallup, Harris, CBS/NYT, NBC/WSJ, etc.
  • Population Reference Bureau
    One-stop source for world population, health, and environmental data.
  • Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)  Icon
    Provides information and resources for researchers as well as those affected by rape, abuse, and incest.
  • Zanran  Icon
    A search engine which finds data and statistics on the web. It's particularly powerful when searching for statistical images such as charts, graphs or tables.

Need help?

Profile Image
URI Librarian

Click on the green arrow to open the chat in a new window. If we're not online, please email us at urilibrarian@gmail.com. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.

Contact Info
Kingston: (401) 874-2653
Providence: (401) 277-5130
Narragansett: (401) 874-6161
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip