Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

More Information

 

Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.

If we're not online, please email us at urilibrarian@gmail.com. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.

Icon Key

Most of these resources require that you log in with your eCampus username and SSO password. For additional details, please see our About EZproxy page.

  • URI Access Only  URI Students, Faculty, and Staff Only
  •  
  • PPL or OSL Only  PPL or OSL Resource - Public Library Card May Be Required for Use
  •  
  • In Library Use Only  Must Be Accessed from Within a URI Library
  •  
  • Free Resource - Available to All  Free Resource - Available to All

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
American Prison Newspapers brings together into one collection hundreds of periodicals, from across the country. published within prisons by incarcerated persons. Represented in the collection are penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
AP Stylebook Online is a searchable, customizable resource for writers and editors. It’s updated throughout the year and valuable online-only resources, including Ask the Editor, Topical Guides and Pronunciation Guide, expand on the print book’s guidance. It’s mobile optimized so you can use it on your desktop, laptop, smartphone or tablet. Includes Webster's New World College Dictionary.
Free resource from ProQuest comprising primary source documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932); The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975); The Contemporary Era (1976-2000). The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. The databases represented in this website include American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight and Alexander Street’s Black Thought and Culture.
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre, the Churchill Archive includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.
Brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans including disabled Americans and those identifying as LGBTQ. Contains hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights. A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
Collection of e-books designed to support a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all academic subjects from History, to Language and Literature, to Science & Technology. Contains over 15,000 titles. This database is provided to the URI community by the School of Education.
Database of the book publishing industry. Search for U.S., Canadian, and international publishers by multiple criteria, including subject, type of publication, geographic location. Search for literary agents, illustration agents, lecture agents, and personnel in the book publishing industry. Includes directory listings for advertising and marketing, manufacturing, sales and distribution, and other services and suppliers. Provides information on ISBNs, organizations, courses and conferences, reference books and magazines, awards, and a calendar of events.
The digital Loeb Classical Library is an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Test preparation study guides for Praxis II examinations. This database is provided to the URI community by the School of Education.
Unlimited access for URI students, faculty, and staff to New York Times content back to 1851 via the New York Times website and phone and tablet apps. Registration required. Details at this link.
Site for educators, created by academics, that offers curated New York Times articles and synopses that connect the news to discipline-specific areas of study. Includes discussion prompts, learning outcomes, instructional strategies, and co-curricular activities. Requires registration with your uri.edu email address at https://nytimesineducation.com/register/.
SciFinder-n is an enhanced search tool accessing the same content as SciFinder Scholar that provides results ranked via relevance as a default. Provides access to additional tools such as PatentPak, MethodsNow Synthesis, RetroSynthesis. It saves all of your search history via a calendar for later access. There are no limits to the number of results returned. Access restricted to URI students, faculty, and staff; for instructions on setting up an account, click more link.
Resource for educators about children's and young adult books, including author and illustrator interviews, lesson plans, and other enrichment content. Create an Educator Login using your uri.edu email address in order to share resources and access with students, create custom reading lists, save custom lesson plans, use text complexity analysis. This database is provided to the URI community by the School of Education.
Clinical decision support resource for health care practitioners that provides a comprehensive synthesis of evidence-based medical knowledge followed by recommendations for diagnosis and treatment that can be acted on at the point of care. Registration optional when using URI library link but required for mobile app. Re-verification required for registered users via this link once every 90 days.
Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Not simply a textbook of definitions, each volume provides trenchant and provocative - yet always balanced - discussions of the central issues in a given topic.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.